New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Just bough the fridge. Hardware to come but one questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2011, 04:22 PM   #1
rcstrick
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Just bought the fridge. Hardware to come but one modification question

Hey All:

I just bought a sanyo sr 9510 fridge the other day for $95 bucks on craigslist! It is a 9.5 CU FT fridge Measurements: 21" wide x 23.5" deep x 53" tall (outside measurements). The tap hardware is being shipped as we speak and I can't wait to get this thing up and running when I get back from vacation next week. I am just getting into kegging so I initially plan to stock one commercial 5 gal keg and one homebrew in this thing for the time being. My concern comes with internal spacing. While there is plenty of room for 2 kegs I want to be able to get more in there as I buy more supplies. The shelf brackets on the side of the fridge are built in molded acrylic (I believe) and take up roughly 1 inch inside of the fridge (this is not the door shelves btw. These are the internal (metal) shelves above of the vegetable crispers. I plan on removing the door shelves in my build). My question is can I grind these down and just foil tape over the exposed insulation or is this a reason for concern? With the measurements I took within the fridge in accordance with the Beverage Factory keg size chart, If I grind these down, I have enough room to fit 4 total 5 gallon kegs in this so I am hoping I can grind it down.

I appreciate any thoughts/ideas you all have.

Last edited by rcstrick; 08-29-2011 at 04:38 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2011, 07:32 PM   #2
krenshaw
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 24