Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Jeebas's 3 Phase Keezer Project

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2011, 01:28 AM   #1
Jeebas
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Jeebas's Keezer

EDIT: I started planning out this build back in the beginning of April and really only started the woodwork back in mid October. I just finished early in the day on this past New Year's Eve. Here is the most recent picture of the keezer -

ORIGINAL POST:

So I figured I would start my own Kegerator / Keezer Build thread. I remember grumbling after bottling my first few batches but always thinking "It's never gonna be worth the money to get all of the kegging equipment and another fridge to store them". I have been homebrewing since March 2010, so a little over a year and have bottled 12 batches and now my opinion has changed completely - I won't mind bottling the occasional batch, but kegging seems to be much less work.

As it stands I don't have the $1000 - from my estimations what it costs to build a nice keezer with a new chest freezer, nice taps, good workworking and nice finishing (tiles on the top and backsplash and the like) - just sitting around. I also don't have the patience to wait until I save up the $1000 to buy the materials and build the thing to start kegging. I do however have an extra fridge - two months after we bought our house, we bought a brand new fridge and kept the old one as a beverage fridge - which is more or less what it is now, though we do store some food in it. So I decided to split this into three phases.

Phase 1 - 2 kegs and a CO2 tank with picnic taps in the beverage fridge. Nothing too fancy, just enough to have two batches on tap. gonna get the dual body regulator so that I can have one conditioning and one tapped at the same time.