Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Issues with frige after aquarium temp controller build

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2011, 06:20 PM   #1
D_Ranged_Eskimo
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,324
Liked 123 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Issues with frige after aquarium temp controller build

I just got done building the aquarium temp controller to get success! It's been up and running great since Sunday, but I came home for lunch today to find my frige draining a ton of water out of the back. The light was on inside, but the compressor wouldn't kick on, and it had gone .5 C above the limit it is set at.

Before I went back to work, the compressor kicked back on and started cooling again, but my concern is that this will continue to be a problem.

Has anyone else encountered this issue, and is there anything that can help prevent this from happenning? The frige is a bit old, but it's been cooling just fine. I'm not sure if the compressor froze up due to the temp controller turning the whole frige on and off repeatidly, or if it's just the damn Texas heat in the garage.

__________________
D_Ranged_Eskimo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 06:35 PM   #2
LVBen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,345
Liked 19 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Maybe the internal temperature controller has a delay, so even though the freezer got power, the compressor just hadn't had enough time to turn on yet.

__________________
LVBen is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 06:52 PM   #3
homebeerbrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
homebeerbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Home, where the beer is., Taxachusetts
Posts: 1,846
Liked 73 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Yeah, I was gonna say the same thing as LVBen, it probably has a time delay to keep the compressor from burning out. Does your temp controller allow you to set a temp range, meaning that if you set it for 65F, the range that it controls at would be 1-5 degrees above or below the set temp? I set mine to a 3 degree range.

As for the water, is it humid where you are?

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulthenurse View Post
My taint is sore.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DakotaRules View Post
... I just threw up on my wife.
homebeerbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 07:49 PM   #4
D_Ranged_Eskimo
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,324
Liked 123 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks guys.

Yeah, I built the aquarium temp controller which has a variance controller for the tempurature. I've got my set at .5 + or - degree celcius variance, but I might have to raise that to let the frige get a litte more of a break.

It is humid down here, but for San Antonio, it's been very dry this year. It does have a delay on it, but I haven't seen it flood water out of the back of the frige like it was doing today.

__________________
D_Ranged_Eskimo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 08:32 PM   #5
LVBen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,345
Liked 19 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Oh, I've seen portable A/C units that have condensation tanks on them. When the tank gets full, the unit turns off. It sounds like you just had a full condensation tank.

__________________
LVBen is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-20-2011, 09:45 PM   #6
D_Ranged_Eskimo
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,324
Liked 123 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LVBen View Post
Oh, I've seen portable A/C units that have condensation tanks on them. When the tank gets full, the unit turns off. It sounds like you just had a full condensation tank.
Thanks for the info. I wonder if there is a way to run a drip line to ensure it won't store and dumb like it did today.
__________________
D_Ranged_Eskimo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 04:19 AM   #7
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 9,909
Liked 1142 Times on 927 Posts

Default

I'm betting you have a no-frost refrigerator/freezer and it was in the middle of a defrost cycle...which would explain why the light was on, compressor off, and water dripping out of it, while your controller had power on the unit...

Cheers!

__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 01:37 PM   #8
D_Ranged_Eskimo
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,324
Liked 123 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks for the help guys. It was doing it's job this morning and keeping my WPA at 62 degrees.

__________________
D_Ranged_Eskimo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2011, 02:00 AM   #9
drkwoods
DarkWoods
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
drkwoods's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Posts: 404
Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

you running a refrigerator with a freezer or just a freezer?

__________________

drkwoods
DarKWoods Brewing
My Unique Single Tier Brut-esque HERMS Build:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/sing...-build-293204/

drkwoods is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2011, 03:40 AM   #10
illnastyimpreza
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winchester , mass
Posts: 291
Default fridge issues

I've been a refrigeration tech for about 10 years now. I'm not exactly sure what this sytem you built is, but it sounds to me as if your starting system is either shot or your compressor is shutting off on thermal overload. chances are you need a solid state relay or "hard start" kit for your compressor.

Please explane this system that you built and exactly what you did to your fridge.

__________________

Primary 1: Homemade Cider
Primary 2: IPA
primary 3: empty
primary 4:empty
Kegerator: empty
bottled: Never again... I hate bottling

Primary stirrer and yeast pitcher: my Girlfriend :)

illnastyimpreza is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ebay aquarium temp controller build android DIY Projects 4097 08-20-2014 07:08 PM
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Secondary temp controller for keezer build ToastedPenguin DIY Projects 3 03-31-2011 04:29 PM
My aquarium temperature controller build Misplaced_Canuck DIY Projects 0 02-27-2011 04:25 PM
Another Love TS-13010 Temp. Controller Build snoworshine DIY Projects 0 08-15-2010 04:15 AM