Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > I need to see the light...but I need wiring help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2010, 04:40 PM   #1
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default I need to see the light...but I need wiring help

I'm sooooooo close to finishing my build and I'm down to wiring switches and I'm going crazy trying to get the switches I have to light up when the send power. I can get them to work but without the light. I've been going nuts searching and can't find a good pic. I'm a very visual person so here are some pics of what I have.
The feed coming in is on the right and goes to the distribution blocks. the ground bar will eventually be attached to the frame.

This is the switch wired and working with no light

And here is the switch itself. It is a basic selector switch from automation direct with a normal light. The contact is a normally open one. Please help I'm at my wits end and I know this is something easy that I'm looking over.

__________________
Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2010, 04:56 PM   #2
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Without the exact model number of the switch, it's hard to say.

But, at first glance, the indicator is called out in the specification as X1 and X2. In your picture, I can see X's marked on the switch housing, with screws directly below - right in the center. (Disclaimer! I'm assuming you bought a switch with a 120 volt indicator. If you do this with a lamp rated for 24v or anything other than 120v, you'll smoke your light and possibly the switch)
You would do the following:

Run another wire from the load side of the green contact block to the indicator connection (X1 or X2) so that power is applied to that post when the switch is "ON". This way the indicator is wired in parallel to the load. If you wire the indicator in series to the load, your whole load will pass through the indicator (Not good)
Connect the other "X" connector back to your neutral block to complete the circuit.
This way, when the switch is "ON", power is applied to your load, as well as the indicator built into the switch.

I can give much better advice if I know the actual part number of the switch, and the contact block...

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!

Last edited by SweetSounds; 06-13-2010 at 05:00 PM.
SweetSounds is offline
TriangleIL Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2010, 05:05 PM   #3
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Here is the switch I have.
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...nt/GCX1253-120

I just tried what you said now I have light all the time and the switch still works damn I have to be close. The contact block does say 24v on it which is a little confusing considering it is a 120v switch

__________________
Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2010, 05:25 PM   #4
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krelja View Post
Here is the switch I have.
http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...nt/GCX1253-120

I just tried what you said now I have light all the time and the switch still works damn I have to be close. The contact block does say 24v on it which is a little confusing considering it is a 120v switch
The switches and contact blocks are separate things, possibly with separate ratings.

If it's on all the time, you're feeding the light from the "Line" or feed side of the switch. You need to power the light from the "Load" side of the switch - The side that feeds the outlet or PID or whatever you have the switch powering.

something like this (Sorry, it's a quick drawing...)


Edit: The unreadable text on the light (center) contacts says X1 and X2! Make sure these are not the screws for mounting the switch to the panel. That would cause a dead short to neutral when the switch is on. And that would be bad... Use the contacts for the indicator light
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!

Last edited by SweetSounds; 06-13-2010 at 05:41 PM.
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2010, 05:52 PM   #5
Krelja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 223
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Bingo you are a savior that was exaclty what I needed. I cant see that to save my life but that little diagram will help me forever with these switches

__________________
Krelja is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2010, 07:02 PM   #6
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krelja View Post
Bingo you are a savior that was exaclty what I needed. I cant see that to save my life but that little diagram will help me forever with these switches
Glad to help
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bud Light vs. Natural light??? kaotic General Beer Discussion 46 02-07-2014 07:39 PM
Light bulb light and fermentation JBrady Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 15 03-26-2010 01:03 PM
Pilsen Light vs. Golden Light DME? Pelikan Recipes/Ingredients 4 01-10-2009 12:41 PM
Wiring an outdoor light Skins_Brew General Chit Chat 3 10-18-2008 01:27 PM
DME: Light/Extra Light/Golden Light? And LME question nostalgia Recipes/Ingredients 7 06-02-2008 04:39 PM



Newest Threads