Honeywell VR8200A2132 + Auberins2362 Help Needed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3PegBrew

Reaction score
Hey everyone -

I purchased the Honeywell VR8200A2132 and Auberins 2362 PID units for my rig. Just a heads up, I am not an electrical engineer or tech savvy with wiring. Everything I have done with my rig, as far as wiring has been based off of other people's rigs and input.

The wiring for my control box and wiring to my valves was followed from this site http://www.2nobledogsbrewing.com/20...-brew-rig-build-part-three-the-control-panel/

The only change that I made was that I used a doorbell transformer rather than one from radio shack. A transformer is a transformer from what I understand.

After I got everything hooked up I turned the power on. PIDS turn on and Valves start to hum with electricity. When I throw the switch to turn on the valve I hear a click in the valve. The switches I use to turn on the valves are the On-Off-On switches. Pilot lights work correctly. The thermocouple forces the valve to turn off when the pilot is extinguished, so that's working.

Here's my problem: There is no gas coming from the valve once I turn it on.

Each valve is receiving 22 Volts on the nose.

Not that it matters but I'm using the BG 14 burners, which I believe are propane burners.

I have returned the original valves and received new valves from Pexsupply. Same problem occurs after hooking them up. The valves get power but no gas between the valve and burner. Only pilot light.

Honeywell has not responded to my email about this issue.

Can someone help me troubleshoot this further? If you need any more details let me know and I'll gladly supply you with them.