Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > help wiring stc-1000 inside fridge

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2013, 04:15 AM   #1
jmc922
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: slh, nj
Posts: 15
Default help wiring stc-1000 inside fridge

Looking for help wiring STC-1000 directly into the fridge? Looking for some input before I start cutting wires. Attached is the wiring diagram for the fridge. I'm only using one stage so pins 5 & 6 will be empty. 3 & 4 are my sensor. Will my controller be hooked up correctly if I take the wires labeled

(smooth black) as my hot wire and connect to pins 1 & 7
(black white) as my neutral wire and connect to pin 2
(brown) as my compressor wire and connect to pin 8

Any input would be great. Not very good at reading these diagrams

File Type: pdf bevair fridge wiring diagram.pdf (126.3 KB, 177 views)
__________________
jmc922 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 05:14 AM   #2
La_Moustachio
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Seal Beach, California
Posts: 19
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

If brown is the hot wire for the compressor then you would be correct. Just make sure you wire the neutral wires together and don't forget the green wire for your ground.

__________________
La_Moustachio is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 05:37 AM   #3
helibrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
helibrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 3,073
Liked 173 Times on 157 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmc922 View Post
Looking for help wiring STC-1000 directly into the fridge? Looking for some input before I start cutting wires. Attached is the wiring diagram for the fridge. I'm only using one stage so pins 5 & 6 will be empty. 3 & 4 are my sensor. Will my controller be hooked up correctly if I take the wires labeled

(smooth black) as my hot wire and connect to pins 1 & 7
(black white) as my neutral wire and connect to pin 2
(brown) as my compressor wire and connect to pin 8

Any input would be great. Not very good at reading these diagrams
I think you want the STC cool control in series with your black (hot) service connection on the fridge so that pins 7 & 8 become a switch for the black (hot) thus turning the fridge on when the cool relay closes.
__________________
Something is always fermenting....
"It's Bahl Hornin'"

Primary:
Brite Tank/Lagering:
Kegged: Hefeweizen, Chocolate Hazelnut Porter, Kumquat Saison, Tart Cherry Cider, Belgian Tripel, Maibock Bock, Ommegang Abbey Ale Clone, Belgian Golden Strong, German Pils (WLP830)
Bottled: Belgian Quad (Grand Reserve), Derangement (Belgian Dark Strong)
On Deck:
My Site: www.restlesscellars.com
helibrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 01:12 PM   #4
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 758
Liked 61 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmc922 View Post
..... Will my controller be hooked up correctly if I take the wires labeled

(smooth black) as my hot wire and connect to pins 1 & 7
(black white) as my neutral wire and connect to pin 2
(brown) as my compressor wire and connect to pin 8

Any input would be great. Not very good at reading these diagrams
I don't believe that's correct. Referencing the upper electrical schematic, BLACKWHITE is the common point between the temperature control and compressor, it is NOT neutral.

In the upper left portion of the lower, wiring diagram, SMOOTH / BLACK is constant hot but SMOOTH in the lower left is not. BROWN is the condensor fan hot, not the compressor hot.

Are you attempting to bypass or replace the temperature control with the STC1000? What portion of the wiring diagram do you have access to? I will assume the compressor, condensor fan, and the terminal block (polygon) are all in the lower section of the unit with the rest in another area? Is there a physical "FAN" switch?

If it is the upper portion of the diagram:
SMOOTH/BLACK to 1& 7
WHITE to 2
BLACKWHITE to 8

This will provide a bypass of the temperature control through the STC1000, however, the temperature control will still be functional and the condensor fan will be powered through the STC1000. I would also suggest disconnecting one of the temperature control wires.
__________________
On Tap:
NippleRub Ultra
Ranger(ish) IPA clone
Horizocade Amber
Rochefort 7

In the Chamber:
Nada

Next Up:
Big Breasted Blonde
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 01:56 PM   #5
reynolds5520
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Fingerlakes NY
Posts: 247
Liked 34 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

raouliii has it right.

Depending on where you want to put the controller (inside or outside) and where you have access to the wires, there are a variety of different wires that can make this work.


The easiest may be to mount it externally and make connections underneath. In that case, you would need this:

Black from the incoming power cord connected to #1 & #7

White from the incoming power cord connected to #2

Smooth Black at the compressor or junction block connected to #8 (note - don't cut the wire, splice into it so that applying power to this wire will still get power to the fan switch)

Finally, at the factory temp control, depending on its range, you may be able to turn the dial all the way to hot to keep it from turning on the compressor. Or, you may have to disconnect at least one set of the wires from it. If you disconnect wires, make sure you keep the pair connected together and insulated against shorting to the case. In other words, keep the Smooth Black connected to the plain Black and the Ribbed Black connected to the Black/White when they are off the temp control.

__________________
reynolds5520 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 02:00 PM   #6
jeepinjeepin
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 6,391
Liked 1043 Times on 1022 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

I just removed the factory thermostat inside the fridge and tapped into those wires. You should only have 2 wires(and maybe a ground) to the original thermostat. That leaves everything else unmolested and operating as designed.

__________________

Walmart is about the only reason for open or concealed carry that I can get behind. -Randar

jeepinjeepin is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 02:04 PM   #7
reynolds5520
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Fingerlakes NY
Posts: 247
Liked 34 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepinjeepin View Post
I just removed the factory thermostat inside the fridge and tapped into those wires. You should only have 2 wires(and maybe a ground) to the original thermostat. That leaves everything else unmolested and operating as designed.
You would still need to find access to the White wire for #2 on the controller. It may be right there, depending on where the lighting wires are located.
__________________
reynolds5520 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 02:06 PM   #8
jeepinjeepin
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 6,391
Liked 1043 Times on 1022 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reynolds5520

You would still need to find access to the White wire for #2 on the controller. It may be right there, depending on where the lighting wires are located.
Sorry. I wired it for power external to the fridge. Both the STC and the fridge are plugged into the wall seperately.
__________________

Walmart is about the only reason for open or concealed carry that I can get behind. -Randar

jeepinjeepin is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 02:47 PM   #9
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 758
Liked 61 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reynolds5520 View Post
...Depending on where you want to put the controller (inside or outside) and where you have access to the wires, there are a variety of different wires that can make this work.......
Agreed. The OP needs to provide more information about location of the controller relative to the existing wiring. A model number would help also.

IMO, what you DON'T want to do for this type of refrigerator is to build a standalone controller that interrupts power to the entire unit. It's best to have the evaporator fans circulating air continuously in these commercial units.
__________________
On Tap:
NippleRub Ultra
Ranger(ish) IPA clone
Horizocade Amber
Rochefort 7

In the Chamber:
Nada

Next Up:
Big Breasted Blonde
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 02:14 AM   #10
jmc922
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: slh, nj
Posts: 15
Default

thanks for the info. Cause what raouliii seems is right. I am trying to mount the stc-1000 inside the fridge and replace the factory temperature control. And i do want the inside evaporator fans running. Temp control is up top and compressor and everything is down below. Its going to be mounted in the top panel where there is 2 switch relays for a fan and a light. When you open the panel you have access to brown, both blacks, and white, the ground is screwed to metal. White wires are pig tailed for the lights already. All other wires go to the switches & temp control.

__________________
jmc922 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stc-1000 wiring bytor2012 DIY Projects 223 04-24-2014 01:39 PM
STC 1000 wiring diagram question brock_gonad DIY Projects 13 02-10-2014 11:38 PM
Existing 220 wiring. Will it work? Pics inside. johnp Electric Brewing 35 01-05-2013 02:30 AM
Ebay Temp Controller (STC-1000) Wiring diagram BeardedIdiot DIY Projects 14 11-26-2012 01:45 PM
CO2 tank outside fridge - regualtor inside fridge? ghart999 Bottling/Kegging 20 03-06-2008 03:32 PM