Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Help with Schematics for Herms electric BCS 460 2 element brewing system

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2012, 07:41 PM   #1
BrewskiBroski
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Help with Schematics for Herms electric BCS 460 2 element brewing system

Hello all - I could use some help on this one. I am in the planning stages of going all electric. I am not an electrical engineer or a computer engineer. I work in finance, which means I am good with excel, which is not helpful unless trying to source all the necessary parts.

I do not know how to write code or read schematics. I have done a lot of research, but I still have not been able to find a schematic to fit what I want to do. The schematics that I have found, I definitely do not completely understand. Can anyone point me in the correct direction or maybe walk me through what a schematic would look like for the below setup.

Setup will be similar to Kal's electric brewery:
3 - 20 gal kettles
HLT and BK both have 5500W heating elements
HERMS system with the heat exchange coils in the HLT
2 march pumps
BCS 460 to maintain temps and on/off for pumps
At any given time, I need to run 1 element and 2 pumps (never running both elements at the same time)

What i'd like:
A panel with switches for manual/auto(BCS 460)/off for each element and both pumps as well as an e-switch

I have a very basic understanding of electricals, so please dumb it down.

Thanks in advance for any help and please ask if more data is required.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2012, 08:01 PM   #2
rp5brew
Recipes 

Is the one element requirement due to current limitations?