Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Help me wire this motor
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2010, 04:29 PM   #1
nickpgoodman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 61
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Help me wire this motor

Hey guys, have a motor I'm going to use to run my mill.

It's 1/2 hp, 1725 rpm motor 110v.

As you can see it already has a plug attached to it, but it also has another lead with a black and white wire, I assume this goes to a potentiometer/rheostat or maybe just an on off switch? Is it feasible to short the black and white to get full speed or what do I need to do with those leads? Do you think I can wire in speed controller so I can do direct drive?





Here's a pic of the wiring.

Here's a pic of the wiring. It's hard to tell from pic, but the wire for the plug that would go to the wall has a black and white and then ground of course, the white connects directly to the motor, the black is spliced and connects to the other wire in the picture, the white on the second wire is also wired directly into the motor. So if that's the case it looks like the second lead would have to go to some sort of speed controller/on off switch. Hope that makes sense.




And finally here are the specs on the plate of the motor.

Plate says GE model 5KH47DR439
HP 1/2
RPM 1725
V 115
CY 60
A 7.7
CODE 814M PC
40C AMB CL B


So, could the speed be adjust on this motor? Or is it designed just to run at the rated RPMs and I will have to belt drive my mill to adjust the rpms down to around 300.

__________________
nickpgoodman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2010, 04:42 PM   #2
Ricand
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ricand's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 697
Liked 14 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I'm no expert, but I believe its is a synchronous motor. That extra lead is for a starting/run capacitor. Difficult to speed control, use step down pulleys.

__________________
Ricand is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2010, 04:48 PM   #3
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,090
Liked 513 Times on 394 Posts
Likes Given: 76

Default

I know all about electricity as is evident in this thread. In my opinion that motor will not work without water.

__________________
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2010, 06:11 PM   #4
TimWeber
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 160
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Oh I am interested in this thread. I just purchased this motor

http://www.herbach.com/Merchant2/mer...egory_Code=MTR

and dont know how to wire it up. It came with two capacitors. Not sure what they are for.

__________________
Pilot Brewing System


Fermentation Chamber


My carboy washer


You can follow me on Twitter @TimWeber
TimWeber is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2010, 06:53 PM   #5
nickpgoodman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 61
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

So, being that it's already wired the way it is it looks like I don't need a starting capacitor right?

Could I just put a spst switch on the white and black leads and I'd ready to go then?

__________________
nickpgoodman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2010, 07:39 PM   #6
ol' rummie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 153
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Where did you get the motor?
Does it run when plugged in, or does it just hum?
It looks like a washing machine or dryer motor.
Most of those types of motors have start windings and run windings, usually both sets of windings need to be energized to start the motor, then power must be cut off to the start windings so they don't burn up.
I'm guessing that the other set of wires are for the start windings that went to a switch or relay.

__________________
ol' rummie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2010, 07:54 PM   #7
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,742
Liked 2770 Times on 2719 Posts
Likes Given: 120

Default

What happens when you plug it in??

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2010, 07:57 PM   #8
Doc Robinson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 2,386
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
What happens when you plug it in??
The damn thing keeps teleporting him back to 1985!
__________________
Doc Robinson is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2010, 08:32 PM   #9
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12,090
Liked 513 Times on 394 Posts
Likes Given: 76

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Robinson View Post
The damn thing keeps teleporting him back to 1985!


I'm not laughing because it's funny. I'm laughing because I could have started this thread...... and it's also funny because of anything I ever tried with stuff I don't understand in my life!

I love experimenting with potentially dangerous stuff. Thjis is the way we learn and possibly lose a finger or two.

To the original poster: I am honestly not criticizing your thread. I am simply having flashbacks to some of my most memorable disasters. The most disastrous ones were also the most fun!
__________________
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2010, 09:15 PM   #10
Ricand
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ricand's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 697
Liked 14 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ol' rummie View Post
Where did you get the motor?
Does it run when plugged in, or does it just hum?
It looks like a washing machine or dryer motor.
Most of those types of motors have start windings and run windings, usually both sets of windings need to be energized to start the motor, then power must be cut off to the start windings so they don't burn up.
I'm guessing that the other set of wires are for the start windings that went to a switch or relay.
Absolutely, plug it in to see if it knows the words or just hummmmmssss. It shouldn't hurt it briefly. The start/run windings are normally on a centrifugal switch, my money is still on a capacitor. If it just hums then that's most likely what it needs.
__________________
Ricand is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTD Wire Options Bigscience Equipment/Sanitation 11 11-26-2009 01:51 AM
How to wire a PID and SSR for E-kettle/HLT Orangevango DIY Projects 3 08-10-2009 12:00 AM
3 Wire RTD Question brewjunky Equipment/Sanitation 2 06-20-2009 07:47 PM
Wire Rope!?!?!? ShortSnoutBrewing Hops Growing 5 05-04-2009 01:14 PM
Need some help to wire this controller SSRider Equipment/Sanitation 5 02-22-2009 08:42 AM