New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Help bypass fridge thermostat with stc




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2014, 08:42 AM   #1
Smellyglove
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 240
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Help bypass fridge thermostat with stc

So I've read that some people just cut the wires to and from the thermostat and plug them into the cool relay on the stc.

Seems simple enough. But I'm confused when it comes to my fridge. There's no actual temperature knob or anything, there's just some LEDs displaying the current temp in the fridge.

On the first picture the wire going out to the left leads to the LEDs on the second picture. The other cable is for the mains. How should I do this?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Home Brew mobile app







__________________
Smellyglove is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 10:15 AM   #2
Blitzkrieg
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Blitzkrieg's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Shannon, Qubec
Posts: 109
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

First of all, where do you adjust the fridge temp? Are those leds buttons? If so, then that is a digital thermostat. Other than that there must be an adjustment dial somewhere.



__________________
Blitzkrieg is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 10:17 AM   #3
Smellyglove
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 240
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitzkrieg View Post
First of all, where do you adjust the fridge temp? Are those leds buttons? If so, then that is a digital thermostat. Other than that there must be an adjustment dial somewhere.
I don't know. Someone gave it away yesterday and I picked it up. I think it's a pretty old fridge. Those are not buttons, just lights.
__________________
Smellyglove is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 10:39 AM   #4
Smellyglove
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 240
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Okay. I plugged it it and gave it a try. It's an electronic thermostat. The blue field is actually a button where I can set the temp. Can I just cut this part out of the loop and add my stc?

I guess (although I have no skills with fridges whatsoever. ) the compressor is only getting an on/off signal from the thermostat. Or a dimmed signal or something. If I bypass it and add my stc will it be the case that the compressor will be working at 100% when it's on? Wouldn't it in that case work just bypassing the thermostat?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Home Brew mobile app

__________________
Smellyglove is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 10:45 AM   #5
Blitzkrieg
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Blitzkrieg's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Shannon, Qubec
Posts: 109
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

The compressor always works at 100%, the thermostat just opens and closes a circuit, you should be able to cut the wire going to the thermostat (keep in mind that if the fridge has a light that it probably gets power from this same circuit) and wire it into your stc. Obviously you want to do this with the fridge unplugged.

__________________
Blitzkrieg is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 10:53 AM   #6
Smellyglove
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 240
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Ok. Thanks. But just to get it in with a teaspoon:

I cut the mains wire. Split both leads, rewire the mains off one end of the split back to how it was. Take both leads off the other end of the split and feed them into the stc. Cut the wire to the thermostat and plug both into the cold relays on the stc?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Home Brew mobile app

__________________
Smellyglove is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 11:10 AM   #7
Blitzkrieg
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Blitzkrieg's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Shannon, Qubec
Posts: 109
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Uh that sounds way over complicated. The wire with the plug on it shouldn't be touched, it runs into a panel on the compressor and is split so that the hot wire has to go through the thermostat before it gets to your compressor. The other wire (the one going to the thermostat) is where you want to wire in your stc. But like I said if you just cut it without having access behind the thermostat you won't be able to wire in your light. In behind the existing thermostat the wire we are talking about cutting splits again to give neutral and hot to the lighting circuit. Also, depending on how fancy the fridge is there may be a heating circuit for the door seal that is run off the thermostat (to avoid condensation).

One solution would be to open the cover behind the compressor and disconnect the compressor's hot wire. Replace this with a new hot wire coming from your stc. Without cutting anything you should be able to branch the neutral and hot under that cover to power your stc. Just make sure to properly cap the disconnected hot wire since it will be live from time to time.

__________________
Blitzkrieg is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 12:01 PM   #8
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 686
Liked 50 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Is there a wiring diagram / schematic of the fridge you could post?

__________________
On Tap:
Tres Equis Lager
Simarillo Pale Ale
Horizocade Amber
Rochefort 7

In the Chamber:
NippleRub Ultra

Next Up:
Big Breasted Blonde
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 12:29 PM   #9
Smellyglove
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 240
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Then how do I power the stc?



Sent from my GT-I9300 using Home Brew mobile app

__________________
Smellyglove is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2014, 12:42 PM   #10
Smellyglove
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 240
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Sorry got hung up on the first part of your post.

But will my idea work? The way I see it it's actually easier. I cut the cables I mentioned, running hot and neutral to power the stc. Cut the cable running to the thermostat and wiring a new cable in its place back and forth through the cool terminals of the stc.

If I run a cable with four leads it's just one cablestretch and I don't have to dig around behind the fridge as much.

I don't care about the lights either. I'll use the stc as an indicator. Maybe placing a pilot light on the hot main before the stc so I can differ between dead mains and dead stc.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Home Brew mobile app



__________________
Smellyglove is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat Bypass Dan2539 DIY Projects 8 01-31-2013 08:31 PM
Thermostat Bypass/Replacement? TR34TM3NT Bottling/Kegging 8 11-26-2012 04:23 PM
Thermostat bypass? mdineenwob DIY Projects 7 03-21-2012 01:20 AM
Thermostat complete bypass? centex99 DIY Projects 9 01-26-2012 06:12 PM
Can I bypass my fridge thermostat? fotomatt1 Equipment/Sanitation 3 11-14-2010 08:17 PM