The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Have kegs new 2 tier brew station, suggestions?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2012, 06:41 AM   #1
klawdawg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Have kegs new 2 tier brew station, suggestions?

I currently have 3 kegs and want to make a 2-tier brew station. I have a burner for the boil and was wondering on incorporating a RIMs system. Being a plumber by trade the plumbing of a RIMs is no prob as with the fuel. My question is can I get away with one pump? Do I pipe it with valves to run the recirc of mash and then throw valves to run the sparge out of HLT with same pump? I'd also insulate mash tun, less burner, with RIMs keeping temp. The HLT would have a low BTU burner to maintain temp for brew water. Any insight would help before the build.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2012, 03:32 PM   #2
Suthrncomfrt1884
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

As long as you batch sparge, you can get away with one pump.

Another HERMS rig...

Old 02-10-2012, 05:09 PM   #3
Lucky_Chicken
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 4

you can fly sparge on a 2 tier and get away with one pump... see my electric build below.

Old 02-10-2012, 05:18 PM   #4
fletchsj
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2