Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > going electric
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2012, 10:01 PM   #1
DrivewayBeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 28
Likes Given: 2

Default going electric

I have the equipment to brew two 10 gallon batches at the same time. Each set up is 3 keggles. Currently I use propane burners but would like to add some heating elements and build a control box.

Currently, I am in the process of building a control box and adding heating elements to the HLT and the Boilers. I plan on having 4 PIDs all in one control box. I bought a 50 Amp Spa panel and plan on running about 75 feet of cable to my set up on the drive way.

I have a couple of questions. Can I power 2 5500W elements at the same time from one 220V power source after the 50A spa panal? Should have I bought the 60A? 2 March pumps would be running the circulation.

Also is it better to put the spa panel next to the dryer and run the 75 foot cable to the control box. Or put the sap panel nearer to the control box. Cheers

__________________

DrivewayBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2012, 10:18 PM   #2
horseinmay
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 215
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Some simple math says that 5500/220=25Amps. To run both simultaneously will be cutting it too close. You may want to downgrade one of the elements (probably the HLT) in order to stay under 50 amps. You'll also want some leeway to run pumps, lights, disco ball, etc.

__________________
horseinmay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2012, 10:19 PM   #3
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fenton, MO
Posts: 886
Liked 33 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Default

Sound like a very interesting build. I'll keep my eye on it!

Also, it's a good idea to review this in the electric brewing area: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/ele...rewers-145019/

Most of your questions are answered there.

Good luck!

__________________
My RIMS eBrewery build
stlbeer is offline
DrivewayBeer Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2012, 10:23 PM   #4
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 289
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

I, too, am finishing up on my system to do two batches at once. I decided to go 60amps, mainly because it is easy and inexpensive for me to get electrical parts. I also wanted to have enough over-current protection for running the pumps, elements, and misc components.

You will be close to 50 amps, if you are running everything at once.
- heating elements @ ~23amps each
- pumps @ ~ 2 amps
- misc @ ~ 1 amp

The cost, as you know, is quite substantial going from 50 to 60 amps. I also installed 60amp relay, which Ohio Ed sold me. Attached below is photos from 6 months ago. I'll try and update the photo that shows the 60amp plug installed with the relay.

img_1695.jpg   img_1689.jpg  
__________________
Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2012, 10:31 PM   #5
Monster Mash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 1,322
Liked 85 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrivewayBeer View Post

I have a couple of questions. Can I power 2 5500W elements at the same time from one 220V power source after the 50A spa panal? Should have I bought the 60A? 2 March pumps would be running the circulation.

Also is it better to put the spa panel next to the dryer and run the 75 foot cable to the control box. Or put the sap panel nearer to the control box. Cheers
I run two 4500W elements in 30 gallon pots and they work great, that brings it down to about 38 amps for both.

I would mount the spa panel on the wall and run your cord to it.
__________________
My 1BBL Brewery Pics
Monster Mash is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2012, 10:34 PM   #6
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 289
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrivewayBeer View Post
Also is it better to put the spa panel next to the dryer and run the 75 foot cable to the control box. Or put the sap panel nearer to the control box. Cheers
If you are going to use 50amps, watch the voltage drop of going that distance. You are looking at using 6 gage SO cord or line to that panel, depending upon the location (would have to check it out).

I have a 20' SO cord whip to connect to the panel. I ran mine off a 60amp GFCI breaker in the panel. Hell, I live close by, you can always come over and check it out.
__________________
Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2012, 10:39 PM   #7
DrivewayBeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 28
Likes Given: 2

Default

If I did exchange the Spa Panel for a 60 amp what other parts would be different? I guess I would need a different relay. I am not sure where I would go about getting a 60amp relay and I don't know Ohio Ed. Thanks

__________________
DrivewayBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2012, 11:05 PM   #8
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 289
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Depending upon your setup, you'll need:
- 60amp GFCI breaker
- 6 gage or beefier wire (I went with a 6-3 SO cord that I store in a NEMA 4X box)
- Pin/sleave connector for 60amps (my Crause Hinds is pictured above)
- 60amp, 120V relay. However, this can be configured differently.

Check out this thread on relay options:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/60a...-relay-209879/

Also, D&F Liquidators is MECCA for us Sparky's in the Bay area. They are located in Hayward and chock-A-block with tons of electrical stuff. It is an electrical supply/liquidator so you can get everything there at a significantly reduced cost.

__________________
Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2012, 11:11 PM   #9
l3asturd
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
l3asturd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 464
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Here's an 80A DPDT relay on ebay:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/220VAC-80A-DPDT-Power-Relay-Motor-Control-Screw-Mount-/270773293933?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f0b58 936d

$25 shipped (China)

__________________
l3asturd is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-21-2012, 07:30 PM   #10
DrivewayBeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: , CA
Posts: 28
Likes Given: 2

Default

Hi. Thanks for the info.

@Sparky= do you have a wiring diagram for your set up? it looks to be very similar to what I want to do. We have the same PIDs etc... What is the benefit that a 60A relay provides over just running 2 parallel 30A relays. I am still trying to get my mind around all this. Thanks for the tip on suppliers too. Do you have a good source for the 6/3 wire? what does SO stand for? thanks

__________________
DrivewayBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electric MT using Electric Fryer Adeering DIY Projects 5 02-17-2012 12:32 AM
Thoughts on Semi DIY electric rig "build". High Gravity BYO SS electric + BCS BllShter DIY Projects 2 11-06-2011 04:18 PM
Going electric? JuanMoore DIY Projects 2 08-27-2010 03:39 AM
Little electric help.. Proetus DIY Projects 6 01-20-2010 01:11 AM
Anyone use this for their electric BK? gonzo brewer DIY Projects 3 11-03-2009 01:50 AM