New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > GFCI outlets




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2012, 03:29 PM   #1
smittygouv30
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 335
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default GFCI outlets

Are people using these consistently with brewing projects to make things a little safer? Do you think they are unnecessary? I didn't use one on my kegerator but am def going to with my fermentation chamber. I'll have a heating element in the moist environment of the freezer so it seems like a must.

Also, what's the deal with standard wall outlets that have a "GFCI" sticker? Are they really? My understanding is that all GFCI outlets should have the set/reset buttons.





__________________
Hop Rehab Electric Brewery

Keg 1: The Electric S'more Stout
Keg 2: Sorachi Ace Clone
Keg 3: Bourbon Barrel Porter
Keg 4: Two-hearted Ale clone

Primary: Empty
Secondary: Lemongrass Wheat Kolsch
smittygouv30 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 03:33 PM   #2
b-boy
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
b-boy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: GETZVILLE, NY
Posts: 2,157
Liked 345 Times on 258 Posts
Likes Given: 99

Default

GFCI can be added at the breaker as well.

I plug all my stuff into GFCI outlets.



__________________
b-boy is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 03:45 PM   #3
TyTanium
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,948
Liked 538 Times on 379 Posts
Likes Given: 415

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smittygouv30 View Post
...def going to with my fermentation chamber. I'll have a heating element in the moist environment of the freezer so it seems like a must...
Agreed, that was my thought process as well.

I use this Portable GFCI:
__________________
TyTanium is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 03:59 PM   #4
smittygouv30
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 335
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b-boy
GFCI can be added at the breaker as well.

I plug all my stuff into GFCI outlets.
Ahhh, I see. I did not know that. Is there a difference between the two? My house has several GFCI with built in reset switches (mostly by sinks). And then several others that just have the stickers.
__________________
Hop Rehab Electric Brewery

Keg 1: The Electric S'more Stout
Keg 2: Sorachi Ace Clone
Keg 3: Bourbon Barrel Porter
Keg 4: Two-hearted Ale clone

Primary: Empty
Secondary: Lemongrass Wheat Kolsch
smittygouv30 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 04:04 PM   #5
AnOldUR
fer-men-TAY-shuhn
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AnOldUR's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,749
Liked 453 Times on 329 Posts
Likes Given: 356

Default

Check you panel. You should have at least one GFCI breaker with a reset on it.

They work the same. The reset are just easier to get to on the GFCI outlets.

__________________
Sent from my POS computer because I refuse to own a smartphone!
AnOldUR is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 04:12 PM   #6
progmac
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 1,532
Liked 175 Times on 142 Posts
Likes Given: 250

Default

when you are wiring a series of outlets, you only need the first in the series -- the one which feeds to your breaker box -- to be a gfci outlet with a breaker ('reset' button). all outlets down the line are protected by that first outlet. so you put a sticker on those if you want to.

in my living room, for example, all of my outlets are protected but only one has the reset button.

__________________
progmac is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 04:13 PM   #7
CaptainDucman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Palm Harbor, Florida
Posts: 19
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Also, what's the deal with standard wall outlets that have a "GFCI" sticker? Are they really? My understanding is that all GFCI outlets should have the set/reset buttons.
Its my understanding that ordinary receptacles can be protected from a GFCI receptacle if properly wired. They are designed to do that. It is a way to save money. You may also consider a GFCI breaker if you have many receptacles to protect.
__________________
CaptainDucman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 04:14 PM   #8
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 686
Liked 50 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

I would recommend always using GFCI protected circuits in your brewery. Any use of electricity near moisture or liquids is very dangerous without GFCI. Especially, if your electrical equipment has any DIY elements.

Most, if not all, GFCI outlets have the ability to protect an electrical load of additional outlets downstream in the same circuit. Hot and neutral for the downstream outlets are attached to the LOAD terminals of the GFCI outlet. This will also result in the stickers being placed on them.

GFCI circuit breakers can also be installed in the breaker panel to protect the entire circuit.

The downside to this is that the entire protected circuit loses power when the GFCI trips.

As for standard outlets marked as GFCI protected, I would suggest testing them before depending on them. A cheap tester like this can be used.

__________________
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 10:24 PM   #9
smittygouv30
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 335
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Awesome great information, thanks all. I'm a physical therapist by trade and no very little about electricity. However, I somehow find it awesomely interesting!
So what happens if you get a shock from a GFCI outlet? It senses abnormal flow of electricity and just cuts off? Do people still get electrocuted, just to a smaller extent?

__________________
Hop Rehab Electric Brewery

Keg 1: The Electric S'more Stout
Keg 2: Sorachi Ace Clone
Keg 3: Bourbon Barrel Porter
Keg 4: Two-hearted Ale clone

Primary: Empty
Secondary: Lemongrass Wheat Kolsch
smittygouv30 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2012, 11:02 PM   #10
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 686
Liked 50 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

GFCIs trip at about 5 milliamps of current which is supposed to be well below a level that would effect a person's heart.

In reading up on this subject I found some interesting statistics reported.

"In addition, GFCI protection devices fail at times, leaving the switching contacts closed and allowing the device to continue to provide power without protection. According to a 1999 study by the American Society of Home Inspectors, 21% of GFCI circuit breakers and 19% of GFCI receptacles inspected didn't provide protection, leaving the energized circuit unprotected. In most cases, damage to the internal transient voltage surge protectors (metal-oxide varistors) that protect the GFCI sensing circuit were responsible for the failures of the protection devices. In areas of high lightning activity, such as southwest Florida, the failure rate for GFCI circuit breakers and receptacles was over 50%!"

TEST YOUR GFCIs REGULARLY



__________________
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes