Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > GFCI Install
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2010, 03:18 AM   #1
andymi86
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 46
Likes Given: 1

Default GFCI Install

I'm starting to piece together my brewery and I am putting together an electric BK. I was planning on installing my GFCI right into my control panel box. I purchased a Siemens 30A 2 pole GFCI from eBay and I just got it today. After taking a look at it I am realizing this might be tricker than I had hoped due to how it's designed to be installed. Has anyone done anything like this? Would I be better of getting a breaker box (like a spa panel) and just using that as my control panel box?

I should mention...I'm in an apartment, so I don't have a way to put the GFCI in my main panel.

__________________
andymi86 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2010, 06:53 PM   #2
bblack7489
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Austin
Posts: 123
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

I'm drawing a blank on finding a link, but there are definitely in-line versions of the GFCI that just look like an extension cord with a built in breaker. If you have a normal breaker-style GFCI, you'll probably need a box that's made to accept that type of breaker. Like you suggested, you could then just use that breaker box as your control panel.

__________________
bblack7489 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2010, 07:07 PM   #3
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,969
Liked 780 Times on 520 Posts
Likes Given: 535

Default

Maybe one of these?

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00002NB08/ref=asc_df_B00002NB081292079?smid=A2YLYLTN75J8LR&t ag=nextag-tools-mp01-delta-20&linkCode=asn&creative=395105&creativeASIN=B0000 2NB08

__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2010, 09:55 PM   #4
andymi86
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 46
Likes Given: 1

Default

Unfortunately I had already purchased a GFCI meant for a breaker panel...here's how I am installing it.









The hole for the GFCI to stick out the back of the box is snug, and the L bracket is plenty too keep it from moving around. The smaller L bracket is connected to an aluminum connector I made from some sheet stock. That will be bolted to the side of the box and line up with the appropriate slot on the GFCI. I of course will have one for each hot line. Looks like it's going to work out pretty good.

__________________
andymi86 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 12:47 AM   #5
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts

Default

Personally, I would NOT do that.

If your homemade lug expands/contracts you end up with arcing in the box.

__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 02:34 AM   #6
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 19,217
Liked 3468 Times on 2147 Posts
Likes Given: 2981

Default

I'm not feeling too good about this thread.

I suggest you look at spa panels with the breaker in there. They are a good deal and can be had at local HW stores.

__________________
Hey goomba I love how you dance the rumba
But take some advice paisano learn-a how to mambo
If you're gonna be a square you ain't-a gonna go anywhere.
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 02:38 AM   #7
andymi86
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 46
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio-Ed View Post
Personally, I would NOT do that.

If your homemade lug expands/contracts you end up with arcing in the box.
Hmm, good point, Ill have to think about that and see if I can come up with something else.


Quote:
Originally Posted by passedpawn View Post
I'm not feeling too good about this thread.

I suggest you look at spa panels with the breaker in there. They are a good deal and can be had at local HW stores.
Can you elaborate on what you don't feel good about?
__________________

andymi86 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 02:40 AM   #8
andymi86
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 46
Likes Given: 1

Default

Double post. =-/

__________________

andymi86 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 02:45 AM   #9
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,969
Liked 780 Times on 520 Posts
Likes Given: 535

Default

The link I posted above is an enclosure that you can plug your breaker into. You then have feed lugs and the load lugs on the breaker for connections. Its only $11 and is the proper way to use a plug on circuit breaker.

__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2010, 02:49 AM   #10
Refry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 288
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Would a portable GFCI plug work? If you're in an apartment, how can you run 30 amp service or do any electrical work w/out their sign-off (which I would think is not going to happen).

__________________
Refry is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI for a mixed 120 / 240 box bblack7489 DIY Projects 9 09-03-2010 02:59 PM
GFCI Wiring zGrubermeister DIY Projects 8 08-28-2010 06:27 AM
GFCI Question enid DIY Projects 15 02-14-2010 09:48 PM
50A GFCI after a 30A breaker? passedpawn DIY Projects 20 11-09-2009 08:47 PM
Inline GFCI protection gregdech DIY Projects 4 10-21-2008 07:12 PM