Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > GE 7 cu ft Freezer Power Draw
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2010, 07:24 PM   #1
SudsGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 28
Default GE 7 cu ft Freezer Power Draw

Hi all,

I've looked high and low here and online for some information on the GE 7 cu ft Freezer's power draw to no avail. I called GE and (surprise, surprise) the woman who answered the phone was no help. She told me that the freezer requires 3000-4500W on start-up (about 40A @120V) which I'm thinking can't be right.

Does anyone know for sure what the start-up, or running, power draw is for this freezer? Or the current draw (either will work)? I have a 10A SSR that I was going to use with an external temperature controller so I want to make sure that's robust enough.

Thanks!

__________________
SudsGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 07:38 PM   #2
dgooden
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 37
Default

I have a GE 8.8 cubic inch freezer, and I just went and checked it out. It peaks at about 8 amps when it starts up, and is ~5 amps when running. Obviously, our freezers may vary.

Additionally, there should be a sticker on the freezer that tells its electrical requirements.

__________________
dgooden is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 07:52 PM   #3
SudsGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 28
Default

I know there's a sticker on it, but I'm still in the planning stages so I don't have the freezer yet and I don't want to make a trip to the store just to see the power draw.

I'm going to assume that the smaller freezer will not draw more than the larger so the 10A SSR should work...if it does, then I'll have to adjust when I get the freezer.

Thanks!

__________________
SudsGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 07:54 PM   #4
daugenet
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SC
Posts: 305
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Your manual indicated that if you use an extension cord to have one rated for 15 amps so i would think that 40A is way out of line.....

__________________
daugenet is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 08:17 PM   #5
jppostKW
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Englewood CO
Posts: 1,814
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

most hvac compressors that i have seen have a start up capacitor that helps lighten the draw on the household circuit

__________________
Diesel Fuel Brewery

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulthenurse View Post
It would be the brewing equivalent of painting the Sistine Chapel with Crayola Crayons.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman View Post
You sir, are a specialist in the art of discovering a welcoming outcome of a particular situation....not a mechanic.
jppostKW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2010, 02:33 AM   #6
marzsit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kent, wa.
Posts: 315
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

my 15-year old 14cu ft whirpool pulls 6 amps on startup and 2.5 amps when running. i switch it with a 10-amp mechanical relay, and the contacts still look new after 2 years of running time. newer units that use r134a refrigerant operate at higher pressures so have higher starting loads.

__________________
marzsit is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2010, 06:58 PM   #7
rcrabb22
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rcrabb22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 734
Liked 21 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

My Whirlpool 8.9cuft freezer pulls approx. 5A at startup and .9 steady state

__________________
rcrabb22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore Power Cord? Mose DIY Projects 8 04-16-2010 05:12 PM
Power Distribution block? Amity DIY Projects 1 03-20-2010 01:43 AM
rotary switch for ac power? tkone DIY Projects 8 12-12-2009 09:10 PM
Stirplate power? Gumbys_Brew DIY Projects 16 11-18-2009 07:20 PM
power mash stirrer chris1979 DIY Projects 1 04-29-2009 03:41 PM