The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Gas Automation

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2011, 03:47 PM   #1
Plankton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 49
Default Gas Automation

I am looking to run my HLT on automation (i.e. love controller, solenoid propane valve with pilot light...). I am using propane and I am wondering if you can run a 10 nozzle jet burner on LP or does it have to be high pressure.

If these burners have to run high pressure, can you run the jet burner on automation using 10psi gas pressure (recommended pressure on website) using an automated set-up? What would be the components required in order to run a safe system?

BTW - here is the link to the burner i have:

http://www.bayouclassicdepot.com/618...jet-burner.htm

FYI - I do all my brewing outdoors and I have an electric RIMS on my MT.

Any help appreciated.

thx

__________________
Plankton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2011, 04:34 PM   #2
BBL_Brewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BBL_Brewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kokomo, IN
Posts: 3,689
Liked 415 Times on 289 Posts
Likes Given: 302

Default

Well I don't know much about how to make a safe automated system, but I can tell you that propane burners and natural gas burners are not interchangeable. The jet nozzles have different sized orifices for each applicatioin. If you plan to use natural gas, which is what I use, you will either need to buy a new burner or get new jet nozzles that are made for natural gas use. They do sell just the nozzles (the brass pieces sticking out of the burner). I don't know what would be cheaper though.

__________________
Slots Down Brewery
Stick with the plan....not the sparge.


Never Ending Liquid Yeast - How to Farm Yeast and Freeze it.

BBL_Brewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2011, 05:02 PM   #3
Plankton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 49
Default

Absolutely. I am planning on using propane and the jet burners I presently have are propane. I just would like to add automation to my HLT with my burners, if possible.

__________________
Plankton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2011, 06:09 PM   #4
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 15,849
Liked 3196 Times on 3101 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

LP stands for liquid propane, which can be run at either low or high pressure. Low pressure typically refers to anything 1psi or under, and high is anything over. I'm not familiar with that particular burner, but I know the similar looking jet burners operate on low pressure (either NG or LP depending on the orifice). Low pressure is usually slightly cheaper to automate with safety features, but either one can be automated. For low pressure, a standing pilot valve (honeywell VR8200 or similar) with a thermocouple and pilot assembly is the cheapest and easiest way to automate "safely".

__________________
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone doing HERMS without automation? wncbrewer DIY Projects 8 08-15-2011 07:06 PM
Want to get into automation jtupper DIY Projects 13 01-08-2011 04:55 PM
A Little Automation charlesap DIY Projects 2 06-14-2010 02:23 PM
First few steps in automation NoNothing DIY Projects 22 05-11-2010 03:43 PM
Bottling Automation scone DIY Projects 3 01-08-2010 01:02 AM