New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > First Kegerator Build.... botched?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2013, 02:07 AM   #1
FrenchyRaoul
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Default First Kegerator Build.... botched?

Hey homebrew talk,

I'm new to the forum, as I've just created an account out of panic. I've just 'finished' my first kegerator build, but I made a mistake. The fridge I am using is a Danby Designer DAR044A1WDD, of which I purchased new from Amazon. In addition, I'm using a double tower conversion kit from beverage warehouse, new ball lock corny kegs.

So, starting the project, I cut my hole for the tower, making sure I did not hit the thermostat electronics. In addition, I cut off all of the door shelving, and put a piece of Plexiglas in its place. However, as of today, I realized, I had not ever plugged in the fridge. I assumed it was new, and therefore worked. Yes, I know, obviously a mistake, and of course, any of the modifications would void the warranty. Well, as of now, when I plug the fridge in, the compressor does no kick on, at all. The light does come on. I did realize this, and taped down the door close switch, and the light goes off, but no compressor. I didn't think any of the modifications affected any of the electronics, but at this point I'm not sure.

I did pull the thermostat and measure the resistance over the two leads (red and black), and I did measure 0 ohms when it was on. At this point, I'm not sure what to do. I am sure I have no warranty on the fridge, and am not sure the best course of action in terms of troubleshooting or repair.

Can you help a worried brewer out?



__________________
FrenchyRaoul is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 02:26 AM   #2
jro238
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Memphis, Tennessee
Posts: 409
Liked 35 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

First, make sure you glance at the manual and make sure there's nothing you need to push/pull/change thermostat setting to something other than room temperature before the fridge is supposed to come on.

If this doesn't work:
As long as you're sure that you didn't hit any lines or wires (really shouldn't be hard to tell if you did), I would probably just call the seller and let them know that the fridge they sent me didn't turn on. I assume they'll get someone to come out and look at it and (hopefully) with a little talking on your part and a slightly understanding technician, they'll realize that you didn't actually break anything and offer to fix it/send you a new one. This definitely isn't a fool-proof plan but it's the best I can think of right now. I mean honestly, as long as you didn't cut through any wiring then I'm pretty sure the compressor should still come on even if you did happen to mangle the refrigeration lines.

EDIT: and welcome to HBT



__________________

My GE 7.0 cu.ft. Keezer Build: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/my-hopefully-prrdy-keezer-build-327739/

jro238 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 02:26 AM   #3
jmichaeldesign
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 82
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

Default

i once bought a brand new window ac unit that did not power on for next to nothing. I opened it up and one wire wasn't connected to the power switch on the unit.

I'd go through the unit and make sure the wires are all connected. Then maybe try by passing the thermostat to see if it will kick on and cool. If thats the case just use a temp controller on it. It's nice to be able to set the exact temp you want anyway.

__________________
jmichaeldesign is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 03:38 PM   #4
FrenchyRaoul
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jro238 View Post
First, make sure you glance at the manual and make sure there's nothing you need to push/pull/change thermostat setting to something other than room temperature before the fridge is supposed to come on.
I took a look, but it looks like it should just power up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jro238 View Post
EDIT: and welcome to HBT
Thank you, this seems like a nice community!

Quote:
I opened it up and one wire wasn't connected to the power switch on the unit.
So far, I haven't seen anything disconnected. I am hoping that one of the screws holding up the tower didn't go through a wire (although, very unlikely). I know the hole I made for the tower didn't. I'll pull off the tower when I get a chance to double check. I guess I'll have to take a more in depth look at the back.

Quote:
Then maybe try by passing the thermostat to see if it will kick on and cool.
Done by simply shorting the two terminals of the thermostat... is there a better way? Or should I just do this (obviously safely, as this is 120VAC)?
__________________
FrenchyRaoul is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 05:13 PM   #5
huntb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan
Posts: 146
Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

Did you cut anything on the inside of the fridge? When I did my conversion I accidentally cut through a couple wires that were buried in the insulation. I had to pull them up and reconnect them and all was well.

__________________
huntb is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 05:59 PM   #6
FrenchyRaoul
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by huntb View Post
Did you cut anything on the inside of the fridge? When I did my conversion I accidentally cut through a couple wires that were buried in the insulation. I had to pull them up and reconnect them and all was well.
What wires, do you know, were cut? And where in the fridge were they?
__________________
FrenchyRaoul is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 06:29 PM   #7
jmichaeldesign
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 82
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchyRaoul
Done by simply shorting the two terminals of the thermostat... is there a better way? Or should I just do this (obviously safely, as this is 120VAC)?
Yup. If that doesn't work wire up the two leads off the compressor directly to an extension cord. You may have cut a wire between the thermostat and the compressor. If your concerned about safety just plug it into a power strip and use the switch on that.
__________________
jmichaeldesign is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 08:06 PM   #8
Docbruw
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Docbruw's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 87
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmichaeldesign View Post
Yup. If that doesn't work wire up the two leads off the compressor directly to an extension cord. You may have cut a wire between the thermostat and the compressor. If your concerned about safety just plug it into a power strip and use the switch on that.

Yup I agree. I just went through this on a fridge I got. Make sure you are getting 120v to the compressor leads. That will eliminate bad electronics from a bad compressor. If its on the compressor side it could be a bad PTC relay.

is a video to test the compressor.

Disclaimer: I am by no means any kind of HVAC guy. This is just some of the knowledge I picked up while trying to fix the cooler I have.
__________________
Docbruw is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2013, 02:05 PM   #9
FrenchyRaoul
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmichaeldesign View Post
Yup. If that doesn't work wire up the two leads off the compressor directly to an extension cord. You may have cut a wire between the thermostat and the compressor. If your concerned about safety just plug it into a power strip and use the switch on that.
Directly to the compressor leads, or directly to the PTC relay? I was under the impression I needed the relay in the circuit for operation? If I am taking that out of the circuit, should I be shorting the start/run terminals with one side of the hotwire cable, and the other conductor of the cable goes to the third pin?

Or, am I hotwiring to the PTC? I am assuming this is what we want, and that's what is shown in the video?
__________________
FrenchyRaoul is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2013, 09:03 PM   #10
huntb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan
Posts: 146
Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchyRaoul View Post
What wires, do you know, were cut? And where in the fridge were they?
They were the wires going to/coming from the T-stat. They went back to the compressor by the bottom of the compressor hump. I cut through them when I was cutting away plastic and foam from the hump so I could fit two ball locks in.


__________________
huntb is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My kegerator build Desp DIY Projects 3 05-30-2013 11:59 PM
First Kegerator Build devilyellow DIY Projects 3 04-26-2012 01:51 PM
Kegerator. Build it, or buy it? agentEhrman Bottling/Kegging 24 04-23-2012 05:50 PM
Kegerator build Myrdhyn DIY Projects 21 09-07-2010 12:49 AM
Kegerator Build rustybrew DIY Projects 8 07-31-2009 05:22 AM