Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Filling up "dead space"

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2012, 04:49 PM   #1
PowPow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 4

Default Filling up "dead space"

I have been using a bucket in bucket mash tun for a couple of years, and it works pretty good. The only thing I really dislike about it is the fact that there are always a couple of litres (halv a gallon or so) of water under the grain bed, thus not being a part of the actual mash.

I would like to minimise the amount of water by reducing this "dead space". But how?

Someone suggested marbles, but cleaning a gazilion marbles after each mash seems like a real pain.

The best idea I have gotten so far is to put a couple of dinner plates on the bottom, but there must a more effective solution.

Any ideas?

It's okay if the solution makes both buckets unsuited for any other use. I only use them for mashing anyway

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 05:09 PM   #2
somedudefromguam
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 53

I read a post a few days ago about this, cant find the thread. They decided to use extra hot liquor (mash thin) and recirculate to even out the mash temps. I have the same mash tun set up, but never really worried because I don't have any problems hitting SG/FG. But, I will begin to recirculate for a couple minutes after I mash in, it just makes sense, and I am usually just drinking coffee while watching it mash anyway...
Hope this helps.

Old 11-22-2012, 05:49 PM   #3
PowPow
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by somedudefromguam View Post