The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermentation Chamber Help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2010, 12:41 AM   #1
mnHawk8
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 49
Default Fermentation Chamber Help

I’m having some problems with my fermentation chamber (an upright freezer, about 4.5 feet tall) build. I am using a BCS box to control heating and cooling cycles. The BCS is controlling two 10A SSRs. When I plug the freezer cord into the control box I built, the compressor will cycle on every 30 seconds or so (for about 3 seconds), but not at full power, and then turn back off; repeat. This happens when the process is not on. When I put the BCS in manual mode and turn that outlet/SSR on, the compressor turns on and runs like normal. It’s almost like the SSR is leaking enough power to slightly turn the compressor on every 30 seconds or so. Is that possible?

Also, if I plug a fan into my control box with the process off, the blades move real slow. So it has to be some sort of power leak; I just don’t know how to fix it.

Please help HBT!

__________________
mnHawk8 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2010, 12:52 AM   #2
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default

I'd try posting in the BCS-Forums.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2010, 12:54 AM   #3
mnHawk8
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyzazz View Post
I'd try posting in the BCS-Forums.
I didn't necessarily think this was a BCS problem though as there seems to be a leak with or without the BCS controling the process. Do you think that isn't the case?
__________________
mnHawk8 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2010, 12:57 AM   #4
JoMarky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 363
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I don't know exactly what a bcs box is, but this sounds exactly like the problem I had when I first set up my temp control box using a CAI WebControl processor as the temp control unit. The logic I wrote to control the outputs was crossed in some way (I forget exactly how) so that it was constantly telling the output to switch on/off/on/off and it seemed like the relay was "leaking." Did you have to create the logic to control the outputs or something similar? If so, I would check that.

__________________

Last edited by JoMarky; 07-06-2010 at 01:00 AM.
JoMarky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2010, 01:01 AM   #5
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnHawk8 View Post
I didn't necessarily think this was a BCS problem though as there seems to be a leak with or without the BCS controling the process. Do you think that isn't the case?
I haven't a clue in the world what the issue may be, just offering up another avenue for you to pursue help at.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2010, 01:02 AM   #6
mnHawk8
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoMarky View Post
I don't know exactly what a bcs box is, but this sounds exactly like the problem I had when I first set up my temp control box using a CAI WebControl processor as the temp control unit. The logic I wrote to control the outputs were crossed in some way (I forget exactly how) so that it was constantly telling the output to switch on/off/on/off and it seemed like the relay were "leaking." Did you have to create the logic to control the outputs or something similar? If so, I would check that.
I did, but the catch is that it did this before I even hooked up the BCS to the control side of the SSRs (should have noted this in the first post). At that point I plugged a lamp into the box. I just figured that it was allowing power to flow because the control side wasn't hooked up.
__________________
mnHawk8 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2010, 01:03 AM   #7
mnHawk8
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyzazz View Post
I haven't a clue in the world what the issue may be, just offering up another avenue for you to pursue help at.
Thanks wyazz; I'll post over there too.
__________________
mnHawk8 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2010, 01:07 AM   #8
JoMarky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 363
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnHawk8 View Post
I did, but the catch is that it did this before I even hooked up the BCS to the control side of the SSRs (should have noted this in the first post). At that point I plugged a lamp into the box. I just figured that it was allowing power to flow because the control side wasn't hooked up.
I'm not sure what you're saying, the lamp you used to test your wiring would flicker when it was plugged in to the box, but that was before the control board was connected to the relay?
__________________
JoMarky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2010, 01:20 AM   #9
mnHawk8
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoMarky View Post
I'm not sure what you're saying, the lamp you used to test your wiring would flicker when it was plugged in to the box, but that was before the control board was connected to the relay?
Yes.
__________________
mnHawk8 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2010, 01:36 AM   #10
blackwaterbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: virginia beach
Posts: 736
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

buy ranco 111000-000 temp control unit. easy to wire up, works like a dream. simple. $60.00 plus shipping.

__________________
it's not the blood you've spilled that gets you what you want, its the blood you share. friends, family, community: these are the most valuable things a man can have.

Primary-
Lagering-
Primary-
secondary-
secondary-
on tap- lemongrass kolsch
on tap- stout
on tap- small mead
bottle-sweet mead
bottle-
blackwaterbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another fermentation chamber Xakk DIY Projects 25 06-22-2014 03:39 AM
Fermentation Chamber ianhey Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 9 06-23-2010 07:39 PM
Fermentation chamber wizardofza DIY Projects 2 12-29-2009 11:43 AM
fermentation chamber docmoran Equipment/Sanitation 1 03-26-2009 01:35 PM
My 1st Fermentation Chamber TJ-Bill DIY Projects 19 11-28-2008 10:58 PM