Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > ebay aquarium temp controller build
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2011, 09:25 PM   #911
418Brewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 38
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I tried to find the answer but 90+ pages is a lot to wade through.

I just want to know if it is possible to use a 220v controller on a 110v circuit. I have read that the controller's display and logic will run on either 220v or 110v, but I haven't been able to find a clear answer as to whether it will trigger the switches and actually turn the outputs on and off.

__________________
418Brewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2011, 10:34 PM   #912
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 418Brewing View Post
I tried to find the answer but 90+ pages is a lot to wade through.

I just want to know if it is possible to use a 220v controller on a 110v circuit. I have read that the controller's display and logic will run on either 220v or 110v, but I haven't been able to find a clear answer as to whether it will trigger the switches and actually turn the outputs on and off.
Nope. It doesn't work. One guy tried, and it's exactly what you said. The display and temp reading part of the thing works, but the relays that switch on and off the heating and cooling circuits don't work.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 11:28 AM   #913
dgoldb1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 380
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Can I just submerge the temp prob in my carboy in order to get the most acurate reading? I was thinking about just putting it through the bung, squeezing it right next to my airlock. Any other recommendations?

__________________
dgoldb1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 01:05 PM   #914
pvtschultz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Allis (Milwaukee), WI, Wisconsin
Posts: 444
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

I think that you'd be better off attaching it to the outside of your fermenter and then insulating it some to get more accurate readings. Sticking anything into the wort risks an infection IMO.

__________________
Brewing: BM's Centennial Blonde
Drinking: Brown Ale, Cherry Smoked Robust Porter (way too much smoke!)
On Deck: Dunkel, CAP, Berliner Weiss, Bock, Sour Raspberry Brown, APA...
2014 Gallons Brewed: 19
Gallons Brewed '11-'13: 250


http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/pvtschultzs-ebiab-build-finally-298407/
pvtschultz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 01:50 PM   #915
Flomaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 2,140
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 37

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgoldb1
Can I just submerge the temp prob in my carboy in order to get the most acurate reading? I was thinking about just putting it through the bung, squeezing it right next to my airlock. Any other recommendations?
Yes , but I'd use a ss thermowell in the stopper. I wouldn't directly put the probe into wort.

-= Jason =-
Flomaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 04:54 PM   #916
dgoldb1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 380
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pvtschultz View Post
I think that you'd be better off attaching it to the outside of your fermenter and then insulating it some to get more accurate readings. Sticking anything into the wort risks an infection IMO.
I can't stick it to the outside of the carboy if I'm using a FermWrap.

Which type of Thermowell would I need? I see different controllers require different types of Thermowell's.
__________________
dgoldb1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 05:58 PM   #917
Flomaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 2,140
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 37

Default

All you need is the ss tubing that had been crimped or soldered st the end of it. The stock price then goes down inside of it. the ranco one at my lhbs looked pretty easy to duplicate.

-= Jason =-

__________________
Flomaster's Dual Tower Keezer Build
Flomaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 06:35 PM   #918
dgoldb1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 380
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

so the inside of the SS tubing does not have liquid in it, correct?

__________________
dgoldb1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 09:02 PM   #919
Flomaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 2,140
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 37

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgoldb1
so the inside of the SS tubing does not have liquid in it, correct?
Correct it's hallow.

the ranco unit I looked at had two homes in the stopper.one for the airlock device and another for the thermowell the temp probe just dropped down into the thermowell from the top of the stopper

-= Jason =-
__________________
Flomaster's Dual Tower Keezer Build
Flomaster is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 09:25 PM   #920
wood7588
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Willamette Valley, Oregon
Posts: 36
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I know people have asked before, but I dont think I have seen the answer. Has anyone discovered a replacement Temp Probe that will work with these controllers? I would like to have a second one that I can keep in a thermowell for my fermentation chamber, so i dont have to keep removing the one I have set up in the Kegerator.

__________________
wood7588 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-14-2012 11:13 PM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 06:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm DIY Projects 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM