HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > ebay aquarium temp controller build




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 12:44 AM   #621
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,238
Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

16 gauge is fine. it'll be rated for 13A, and that is PLENTY.



__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2011, 04:28 PM   #622
ekjohns
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 1,352
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

i bought a 16 gauge wired everything up then got worried and re-wired with a 14 gauge. I talked to my dad who is an electrical engineer and he said 16 would be fine except if something shorted and started drawing more current it could start pulling full power from the wall which could cause the wires to overheat and catch fire (keep in mind at this point the controller would already be fried). Its more of a safety 1:10000000 chance kinda thing



__________________
ekjohns is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2011, 04:32 PM   #623
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,238
Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekjohns View Post
i bought a 16 gauge wired everything up then got worried and re-wired with a 14 gauge. I talked to my dad who is an electrical engineer and he said 16 would be fine except if something shorted and started drawing more current it could start pulling full power from the wall which could cause the wires to overheat and catch fire (keep in mind at this point the controller would already be fried). Its more of a safety 1:10000000 chance kinda thing
Right. this is the only reason to use large cord. I'm willing to bet that 99% of the things plugged into the wall in your house are using a cord that isn't capable of handling the max amps that can come out of the wall. I opted to make this thing like the other 99% of the things I plug in.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2011, 05:09 PM   #624
Bjornbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St. Clair Shores, MI, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milky Way
Posts: 428
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

short circuits aren't the problem. A 16g wire can carry HUGE amounts of current for a short amount of time (enough time for the circuit breaker to open). It's overloads that are an issue. If the compressor seizes (for example) and draws higher, but not huge currents, the breaker won't open right away and the wire could fry. This is why protection should be used that is sized properly to the conductor size.

But like you father said, it's a rare chance and for our applications isn't really an issue.

__________________
Sand Viking Brewery

“Happiness? A good cigar, a good meal, a good cigar and a good woman - or a bad woman; it depends on how much happiness you can handle.” ~George Burns
Bjornbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2011, 01:02 AM   #625
d_ozz68
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Holland, Michigan
Posts: 100
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

cool, sounds like I will be safe enough with using the 16 gauge. My temp. controller and project box should be waiting for me when I get back into town on friday........I can't wait to get this thing put together!

__________________
d_ozz68 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2011, 02:47 AM   #626
big_al_in_k-zoo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 244
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Just got my controller in today.

question with wiring the probe in. Does it matter which wire goes where? Doesn't seem to be any marking differentiating them.

Thanks!

Alan

__________________
big_al_in_k-zoo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2011, 03:10 AM   #627
Hermit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alternate Universe
Posts: 2,012
Liked 41 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big_al_in_k-zoo View Post
Just got my controller in today.

question with wiring the probe in. Does it matter which wire goes where? Doesn't seem to be any marking differentiating them.

Thanks!

Alan
No.

Well, I should add as long as you put them on the thermistor lugs.
__________________
Hermit is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2011, 03:15 AM   #628
big_al_in_k-zoo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 244
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Thanks! Literally waiting here for a reply before I secure everything up!

__________________
big_al_in_k-zoo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2011, 05:15 PM   #629
big_al_in_k-zoo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 244
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

OK. Here's mine! It seems to work. Hooray

Thanks to the O.P. This was a fun little build to keep me occupied for a while. =)

Planning on printing out Ubermike's C to F conversion chart and slapping it right under the display.

__________________
big_al_in_k-zoo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2011, 12:34 AM   #630
bkov
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: jersey
Posts: 1,008
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

would one of these work? only $3 shipped

http://cgi.ebay.com/Digital-Thermometer-Temperature-Sensor-LCD-Display_W0QQitemZ250499538070QQcategoryZ50926QQcmd ZViewItemQQ_trksidZp4340.m8QQ_trkparmsZalgo%3DMW%2 6its%3DC%26itu%3DUCC%26otn%3D5%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3 D6350785044939776698



__________________
bkov is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-14-2012 11:13 PM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 06:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm DIY Projects 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM