Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > ebay aquarium temp controller build
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2010, 08:27 PM   #521
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalben View Post
I wired up the controller with a cord off an old cable box, but no power.
I used an old wall wart, no power.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjornbrewer View Post
are you feeding it 120V?
Quote:
Originally Posted by originalben View Post
It says it's the correct one- '110VAC, 50Hz/60Hz' marks below the power screws.
Not getting anything.

Slow down a second, Ben.

I don't know what your "old cable box" cord was, but in your first post, you said you used a old wall wart, which is NOT going to work. That's DC power and not AC, which is why Bjorn asked if you were feeding it 120VAC.

Your other response only confirmed that it was a 120VAC controller, but not whether you were feeding it 120VAC for power.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2010, 11:57 PM   #522
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
Slow down a second, Ben.

I don't know what your "old cable box" cord was, but in your first post, you said you used a old wall wart, which is NOT going to work. That's DC power and not AC, which is why Bjorn asked if you were feeding it 120VAC.

Your other response only confirmed that it was a 120VAC controller, but not whether you were feeding it 120VAC for power.
And if you did in fact feed it 12VDC you may have fried the controller...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 01:38 AM   #523
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,478
Liked 250 Times on 203 Posts
Likes Given: 43

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyzazz View Post
And if you did in fact feed it 12VDC you may have fried the controller...
I would think it would be highly unlikely, the contorller side is most likely 5-12V dc anyway, the 120V ac would go through a small stepdown transformer, to a bridge rectifyer to a voltage regulator (maybe, but probably). Feeding it with 12V dc would probably just heat up the transformer a bit. (disclaimer, I am no way an expert in electronics but do have some basic knowledge. Anyone else done Electrical Engineering 101?)
__________________
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 09:56 AM   #524
originalben
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Thanks, guys.
I understand what you're saying and I got it going.


The wart does have a transformer which made it inappropriate for the application.
I had just gotten a bit frustrated after having no luck with the initial 'straight' power cord...and I had not hooked up the sensor or held down the power button long enough, apparently...which I now see is necessary.


It works and I appreciate the assistance.

__________________
originalben is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 10:57 AM   #525
Bjornbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St. Clair Shores, MI, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milky Way
Posts: 428
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Glad you got it working Ben.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattd2 View Post
I would think it would be highly unlikely, the contorller side is most likely 5-12V dc anyway, the 120V ac would go through a small stepdown transformer, to a bridge rectifyer to a voltage regulator (maybe, but probably). Feeding it with 12V dc would probably just heat up the transformer a bit. (disclaimer, I am no way an expert in electronics but do have some basic knowledge. Anyone else done Electrical Engineering 101?)
Yeah....no, not even close There's no transformer in that little thing...it would be a solid state buck power supply. No harm would be done at all feeding it 12VDC.
__________________
Sand Viking Brewery

“Happiness? A good cigar, a good meal, a good cigar and a good woman - or a bad woman; it depends on how much happiness you can handle.” ~George Burns
Bjornbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 05:20 PM   #526
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,478
Liked 250 Times on 203 Posts
Likes Given: 43

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjornbrewer View Post
Glad you got it working Ben.


Yeah....no, not even close There's no transformer in that little thing...it would be a solid state buck power supply. No harm would be done at all feeding it 12VDC.
Oh... ok, yeah I didn't think any damage would be done to something designed for 120 V if feed with 12 V. How much would one of those buck supplies cost? and do you still need to rectify the ac first or does the chip do that too?
__________________
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 05:27 PM   #527
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattd2 View Post
Oh... ok, yeah I didn't think any damage would be done to something designed for 120 V if feed with 12 V. How much would one of those buck supplies cost?
I wasn't concerned about the voltage but rather the current, DC vs AC. Not that I'm an EE or anything, just thought that it could have possibly damaged the unit in some way.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 05:39 PM   #528
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,478
Liked 250 Times on 203 Posts
Likes Given: 43

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyzazz View Post
I wasn't concerned about the voltage but rather the current, DC vs AC. Not that I'm an EE or anything, just thought that it could have possibly damaged the unit in some way.
Yeah, the way I look at it though is ac is design for the electrons going both ways so feeding it with dc the elctrons only go one way and most likely the thing won't work but probably won't break either. Feeding dc equipment with ac however forces electrons round the wrong way in the circuit leading to problems. I'm no EE either but thats just how I look at it in my mind.
__________________
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 05:42 PM   #529
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattd2 View Post
Yeah, the way I look at it though is ac is design for the electrons going both ways so feeding it with dc the elctrons only go one way and most likely the thing won't work but probably won't break either. Feeding dc equipment with ac however forces electrons round the wrong way in the circuit leading to problems. I'm no EE either but thats just how I look at it in my mind.
Darn you and your logic!!!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 06:05 PM   #530
Bjornbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St. Clair Shores, MI, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milky Way
Posts: 428
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

we're getting off topic here, but this is an example of what could be used internal to the temp controller for the power supply.

http://www.datasheetarchive.com/pdf-...SA-506818.html

note the bridge front end...doesn't really matter if you feed AC or DC into the thing.

__________________
Sand Viking Brewery

“Happiness? A good cigar, a good meal, a good cigar and a good woman - or a bad woman; it depends on how much happiness you can handle.” ~George Burns
Bjornbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-14-2012 11:13 PM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 06:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm DIY Projects 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM