Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > ebay aquarium temp controller build
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 09:34 PM   #3191
txinga
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 74
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I have one of these working as we speak. I'm upgrading my freezer capacity to two units and was wondering...
I purchased a second temp controller. I have a broken Black box Pow-R-Boot power hub (https://surpluscityliquidators.com/v...uct/164469/530) that is rated at 15 amps. Could I gut it and mount two temp controllers for the two freezers? I guess the real question is can you run two freezers of of one 15 amp power cable?
Thanks,

Tx

__________________
txinga is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 11:03 PM   #3192
emjay
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
emjay's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12,694
Liked 1714 Times on 1602 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by txinga
I guess the real question is can you run two freezers of of one 15 amp power cable?
Thanks,

Tx
Yes.
__________________
emjay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 11:08 AM   #3193
txinga
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 74
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Excellent, thanks.

__________________
txinga is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 03:02 AM   #3194
seedubxj
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 191
Liked 14 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

If one were to use this type of controller combined with a chest freezer for cooling and a brew belt for heating and taping the insulated probe to a carboy, where would be the best location for the belt and for the probe? I wouldn't want to get a false reading due to the carboy material (glass or plastic) heating up due to the brew belt. Any thoughts?

__________________
seedubxj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 03:08 AM   #3195
emjay
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
emjay's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12,694
Liked 1714 Times on 1602 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seedubxj
If one were to use this type of controller combined with a chest freezer for cooling and a brew belt for heating and taping the insulated probe to a carboy, where would be the best location for the belt and for the probe? I wouldn't want to get a false reading due to the carboy material (glass or plastic) heating up due to the brew belt. Any thoughts?
Belt would be best near the bottom, for reasons of convection, but not so low that it'll be around a mass of trub instead of liquid. So around 4 inches or so from the bottom...

And I would put the probe maybe 4-6 inches from the top of the liquid level.
__________________
emjay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 11:29 AM   #3196
jerryk
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 75
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

What are your thoughts on putting the temp probe inside a white labs yeast bottle with water or alcohol instead of taping it to the side of the fermenter? I think it might let the probe sit in just enough of a mass to cut down on cycling with out having to tape it to what ever you are fermenting in.

__________________
jerryk is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 11:40 AM   #3197
zachattack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: , MA
Posts: 2,503
Liked 242 Times on 208 Posts
Likes Given: 130

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryk View Post
What are your thoughts on putting the temp probe inside a white labs yeast bottle with water or alcohol instead of taping it to the side of the fermenter? I think it might let the probe sit in just enough of a mass to cut down on cycling with out having to tape it to what ever you are fermenting in.
That works fine for a kegerator, but isn't ideal for actively fermenting beer. Since the temperature in the fermenter can be 5-7+ degrees above ambient, that's where you want to get your reading. Tape it to the side of the carboy.
__________________
zachattack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 11:47 AM   #3198
jerryk
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 75
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachattack

That works fine for a kegerator, but isn't ideal for actively fermenting beer. Since the temperature in the fermenter can be 5-7+ degrees above ambient, that's where you want to get your reading. Tape it to the side of the carboy.
Thanks, I was just board and thinking again. I know that can be dangerous.
__________________
jerryk is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 12:58 AM   #3199
notzj1701
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by android View Post
i'll have to measure it when i get home, but either 7x5x3 or 8x6x3. depending on where you mount the controller, it's a tight fit between the back of the box and the wiring.
So which one is it?
__________________
notzj1701 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 01:18 AM   #3200
notzj1701
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by android View Post
i was excited about the prospect of this temp controller, so i got one from ebay and put the whole thing in a project box from radio shack. one plug is switched for heating and the other for cooling. i have yet to build up my fermentation chamber that i'll use this on, but preliminary tests confirmed that the unit worked great. there is a 0.3 deg C differential on this thing, so it is pretty accurate and easy to set. i used a 14 gauge extension cord for all the wires. it does read in celcius, but that's OK by me.

all of the parts:


did some sloppy cut outs and wired it up:


power cord and sensor gives plenty of slack:


close up of the temp controller:


powered up:


my wiring diagram (sloppy also). i only used one wire nut to join the hot wires as you can see in one of the pics above. also, very important to break off the jumper tab on the hot side so you can control each outlet independently.
Wouldn't this one work? It's in degrees fahrenheit

http://www.ebay.com/itm/AC-110-120V-...item3a6626468c
__________________
notzj1701 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-14-2012 11:13 PM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 06:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm DIY Projects 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM