Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > ebay aquarium temp controller build

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2012, 04:45 PM   #2751
BrewBug
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: , WI
Posts: 56
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Well I just finished building mine and may have an issue that I hope someone can help on. In regular outlet it powers up just fine and seems to run normal, at least with nothing plugged in as heating or cooling source. My issue is that when I plug the unit into my homes GFCI outlet and turn it on, it immediately trips the GFCI. DO I have something wired wrong?

__________________
BrewBug is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 05:01 PM   #2752
zachattack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: , MA
Posts: 2,420
Liked 227 Times on 195 Posts
Likes Given: 118

Default

A tripped ground fault means current is leaking to the ground. Did you accidentally hook the ground up to the neutral? That would make it run, but it would be very dangerous.

__________________
zachattack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 05:08 PM   #2753
Kingfish
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 253
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrewBug View Post
Well I just finished building mine and may have an issue that I hope someone can help on. In regular outlet it powers up just fine and seems to run normal, at least with nothing plugged in as heating or cooling source. My issue is that when I plug the unit into my homes GFCI outlet and turn it on, it immediately trips the GFCI. DO I have something wired wrong?
A common reason a GFCI will trip but the appliance works fine on a normal outlet is that the neutral is tied into the ground. Where do you have the ground attached that is coming in to your project box? It should be attached to the grounding ear(s) on the receptacle(s) and nowhere else.
__________________
Kingfish is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 05:10 PM   #2754
BrewBug
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: , WI
Posts: 56
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

WOW!! I expected an answer in a couple days not 16 minutes. I went back inside the enclosure and sure enough I mixed two wires. Everything is working great now. THANKS!!!

__________________
BrewBug is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 06:07 PM   #2755
zachattack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: , MA
Posts: 2,420
Liked 227 Times on 195 Posts
Likes Given: 118

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrewBug View Post
WOW!! I expected an answer in a couple days not 16 minutes. I went back inside the enclosure and sure enough I mixed two wires. Everything is working great now. THANKS!!!
I love how Kingfish and I posted the exact same thing
__________________
zachattack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 06:35 PM   #2756
Kingfish
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 253
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachattack View Post
I love how Kingfish and I posted the exact same thing
If I hadn't of gotten a phone call while writing my response I would have beaten you...
__________________
Kingfish is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2012, 06:59 PM   #2757
carlisle_bob
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Carlisle, PA
Posts: 1,205
Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanMoore View Post
The cycling you're experiencing probably isn't frequent enough to burn up the compressor quickly, but I'm confident that it cycles considerably more often than the few times a day mine cycles. By your own admission you had to fiddle with both the probe placement and hysteresis settings to achieve your desired serving temp and compressor cycle rates. If you're happy with how your probe placement performs, that's great, but please stop trying to convince others of it's benefits when there clearly aren't any.
Hi

If you believe that the compressor on a normal cheap / small freezer only cycles once or twice a day that's fine. My observation of brand new freezers does not match yours. For a very large freezer or a cold environment anything is possible. The published data from the manufacturer also does not back up the few cycles a day observation.

Bob
__________________
carlisle_bob is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2012, 07:19 PM   #2758
dec
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Have a few questions regarding the diagram and pics in the OP. The diagram shows the probe connected to 1,5,6,7 with one wire and to the hot side of one of the sockets with the other wire. But the first picture appears that it's connected to 3 & 4 of the temp controller. There is also some green wire in the diagram that appears to be connected to the hot second socket and the probe but I don't see those wires at all in the pictures or how you'd connect that third wire to the probe.

__________________
dec is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2012, 08:24 PM   #2759
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 753
Liked 60 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 82

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dec View Post
Have a few questions regarding the diagram and pics in the OP. The diagram shows the probe connected to 1,5,6,7 with one wire and to the hot side of one of the sockets with the other wire. But the first picture appears that it's connected to 3 & 4 of the temp controller. There is also some green wire in the diagram that appears to be connected to the hot second socket and the probe but I don't see those wires at all in the pictures or how you'd connect that third wire to the probe.
The object on the upper right of the OP's diagram is the power cord plug, not the probe. Where the lines cross on the diagram, there is NO connection unless it has a big dot. The probe is not shown on the diagram and is connected to 3&4.
__________________
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2012, 05:06 PM   #2760
cwi
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin
Posts: 845
Liked 30 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlisle_bob View Post
Hi

If you believe that the compressor on a normal cheap / small freezer only cycles once or twice a day that's fine. My observation of brand new freezers does not match yours. For a very large freezer or a cold environment anything is possible. The published data from the manufacturer also does not back up the few cycles a day observation.

Bob
Interesting. I wasn't aware that any manufacturers were publishing data on compressor cycling when using an auxiliary temperature controller with the sensor placed on an almost ideal 20Kg thermal mass, in a freezer that likely has several other similar vessels acting as, to use a fancy term like you are fond of doing, defluctuators.

You really should wait until you actually own the controller discussed in this thread, not the 220V you ordered after all of your equally deep analysis of the seller had you convinced it would be a 110V model.

You do not have this thought out properly, and seem to be very closed minded to any methods that differ from your own. There are people here that are equally (or more) intelligent, educated, experienced, knowledgeable, etc. as you. You might try considering the opinions offered up here, even though they might conflict with your ill conceived ideas.
__________________
cwi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY temp controller build android DIY Projects 100 05-09-2013 01:14 PM
Control Fermentation temp with Aquarium Heater chemist308 General Techniques 20 12-14-2012 11:13 PM
question about "aquarium temperature controller" SamBrewer General Techniques 12 02-26-2011 06:30 PM
Attic Fan Temp Controller = Inexpensive Fermentation Controller???? Beernip General Techniques 5 06-16-2009 04:30 PM
Brutus Build Controller Box? gruversm DIY Projects 9 03-27-2009 03:54 AM