Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Do SSR's leak voltage while off?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2010, 09:03 PM   #1
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default Do SSR's leak voltage while off?

I seem to remember that being said in another post somewhere. I have a DPDT switch wired (Manual-OFF-Auto). The manual side receives it power right from the dist-block, and the Auto receives a power feed from the SSR. However, if the switch is in Auto mode but I don't have the relay turned on my voltmeter is still showing about 3VAC. I wired a small LED off the middle terminals of the switch so that when power goes to the outlet the light turns on. This works perfectly in Manual mode but the light also comes on during Auto mode even though the SSR is not switched on.

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 09:09 PM   #2
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,961
Liked 429 Times on 350 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

I think you mean leak current. There is no such thing as leaking voltage.

I don't know about your particular SSR, but transistors and related devices pretty much always leak some current when power is applied to them. It's not a mechanical system like an actuated relay.

__________________
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 09:15 PM   #3
illin8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: South County, RI
Posts: 454
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Yes, I believe they do until a certain load is applied to them. Search you should be able to find it easily.

__________________
South County Brewing Co.
Primaries 1 & 2: Apfelwein
Primary 3: EdWort's Haus Pale Ale
Bottle Conditioning: AHS Oktoberfest, Biermuncher's Centennial Blonde

On deck: Nothing (recently moved/working on the laundry list)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laughing_Gnome_Invisible View Post
Love is not a pink heart on a Hallmark card. It is a curse on mankind in which the male of the species must continually struggle to gain his own happiness by means of satiating the batcrap crazy stupid whims of the lady with the snaky hair.
illin8 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 09:23 PM   #4
Synovia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, Il
Posts: 1,327
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

There is no on and off, there is only Hi/Low.

__________________
Synovia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 10:34 PM   #5
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Okay, so in other words the reason my LED light turns on is because the SSR is supplying a current at all times regardless if the SSR is open or closed?

Anyone know of way to wire an LED to only light up when the SSR is activated/closed?

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 10:40 PM   #6
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

There was a discussion on the BCS forum about this subject. Do a search, don't remember the outcome.

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 11:27 PM   #7
Poobah58
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Poobah58's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Milford, CT
Posts: 2,214
Liked 54 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

An SSR is a triac circuit. You cannot put an LED across it (unless you install a load resistor). You should use an incandescent light. The triac can leak just enough current to light an LED (comes on at a lower voltage than a light bulb) but doesn't have enough current to drive a light bulb.

__________________
Mead Lane Brewing
The liver is evil and must be punished
Poobah58 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2010, 11:43 PM   #8
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

ah ok, makes sense now.

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 01:38 AM   #9
MrH
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PNW
Posts: 122
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I use line voltage LEDs and run them off the high side. Works like a charm.


MrH

__________________
MrH is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2010, 04:23 AM   #10
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

What exactly is the "high side"?

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with relays to use with low voltage switches Rhino17 DIY Projects 9 11-24-2009 11:53 AM
Stirplate build......voltage question. tcMonk DIY Projects 8 10-28-2009 06:46 PM
Line voltage controller for temp. controll? cudaaar Equipment/Sanitation 7 06-26-2008 01:20 AM
Ranco ETC-111000 voltage Q broadbill Equipment/Sanitation 1 11-08-2007 02:50 PM
Stir plate voltage regulator boards Funkenjaeger DIY Projects 8 09-14-2007 10:11 PM