Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > DIY Stainless Immersion or Counterflow chiller?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2012, 05:41 PM   #1
StainlessBrewing
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 81 Times on 69 Posts
Likes Given: 137

Default DIY Stainless Immersion or Counterflow chiller?

I'm still very new to brewing but ready to move from extract to all grain. I'm currently starting on the basic things I want to do first and that's the chilling method. I'm sick of the ice bath method and want to make a chiller of my own.

I've read multiple threads on the copper being a better heat exchanger but stainless lasting longer. I've seen the chillzilla and the installed chillers in the boil keg (not sure the term for this tun?). I'm trying to decide which one would work best and is it better to just buy a $100 plate chiller? Do plate chillers clog easier? Should I just do the garden hose method?

By zjosey at 2012-02-13

By zjosey at 2012-02-13

By zjosey at 2012-02-13

I was thinking 5/8" tube to go over the 3/8" tubing coiled up. I would be able to coil it up in a 6-8" diameter 10-20ft long. Maybe even combine the immersion with a counterflow when exiting the keggle. What are your thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2012, 06:34 PM   #2
MaxOut
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 60 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 2