New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Custom Conical Fermenter

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2010, 07:00 PM   #11
Hebrews
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

i'm still learning and i'm plannin on getting the "how to brew" book soon. For now i'm gunno go do a search on "yeast harvesting"....I'm still debating. what's the best quantities to do this in? i feel like 12 Gallons would be too much, and 5 might not be worth the trouble.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2010, 11:41 PM   #12
Hebrews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

ok, so why are there 2 valves on a conical? I see one on the bottom and one kinda off the side toward the bottom.......I stopped in at the local home brew outlet, and they were pretty helpful, but i just wanted to go in with a little more info before asking for help on this project.

Old 10-18-2010, 01:09 AM   #13
Duckfoot
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Bottom is for trub removal and yeast harvesting... The top one is for sampling and racking off the yeast cake...

I believe you can also just use the bottom after the yeast is out to rack from there...

On deck : DFB Triple Black Death By Chocolate Stout
Primary: Notta...
Secondary: 21 Year Mead...
Kegged : DFB Belgian Pale, DFB Brown, DFB Belgian Dark Strong, DFB Cider...
------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timberwolf View Post
Non-Alcoholic beer is like going down on your cousin, it might taste the same but it just ain’t right!

Old 10-18-2010, 01:35 AM   #14
funkswing
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

Quote:
i'm still learning and i'm plannin on getting the "how to brew" book soon. For now i'm gunno go do a search on "yeast harvesting"....I'm still debating. what's the best quantities to do this in? i feel like 12 Gallons would be too much, and 5 might not be worth the trouble.