New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Corny Keg Thermowell




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2011, 04:22 PM   #1
cascadia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 92
Default Corny Keg Thermowell

Has anyone made or purchased a corny lid with a thermowell?

I am switching over to fermenting in 10 gallon cornelius kegs and would like to be able to take internal temperature readings.

Thanks



__________________
cascadia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 04:25 PM   #2
Maltose
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 469
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I'd just suggest a sticky thermometer on the side. It should be very accurate through the thin stainless walls. Unless someone manufactures a corny lid with a built in well, you'd have to punch a hole in there and make it able to hold pressure.



__________________
Maltose is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 04:31 PM   #3
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

I have one on my 15 gallon corny lid. Made my own, although if I was to do it again I'd attack it differently.

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 04:35 PM   #4
cascadia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 92
Default

I have a stick on thermometer now. It gives a general idea of temperature. I am looking for something more accurate. Previously with my carboy I was reading 3-5F warmer in the middle with a thermowell than the stick on was showing.

I am building a heating/cooling jacket for the keg. So I would really like to be able to put my controller probe right down in the middle of the fermentation.

__________________
cascadia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 04:36 PM   #5
cascadia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 92
Default

@samc, what would you do differently?

__________________
cascadia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 04:37 PM   #6
Ace_Club
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ace_Club's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 34,722
Liked 1493 Times on 1419 Posts
Likes Given: 52718

Default

If you're using it to ferment, I'm assuming that you have an airlock or blow-off tube coming off of one of the posts. If that's the case, you can always unscrew the pressure relief valve and see if you can find (or make) a thermowell that would mate with those threads. That way it would be centrally located in the keg and would be easily replaced with the pressure relief valve if you need to use the keg for pressurized kegging duty.

(Edit: Not being familiar with 10 gallon cornies, I am assuming they have lids similar to the 5 gallon versions with the pressure relief valves. If not, ignore this suggestion.)

__________________

"If guns don't kill people, why do we give people guns when they go to war? Why not just send the people?" - Ozzy Osbourne

Sent from my iPhone 4s.

Canon T2i | EF-S 18-55mm | EF 28mm 1.8 | EF 50mm 1.8 | EF-S 55-250mm

3 whipped dog straights, Gillette Ball End Tech, 1959 Gillette Fat Boy

Secondary: Strawberry Melomel

Ace_Club is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 04:42 PM   #7
cascadia
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 92
Default

ace, that is a good idea. I have a pressure gauge, bleeder valve and blow off tube on the gas post to vent co2. The lid I am currently using is the racetrack style with a welded (non threaded) relief valve. I'll look at my spare lids and see if any have a threaded opening.

__________________
cascadia is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 05:13 PM   #8
lurker18
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lurker18's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 603
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

I bought a thermowell with the temp controller a while back, and all it was is the dip tube crushed and sealed on the bottom end. Maybe take the popet valve out of a post and run the probe through that.

__________________
lurker18 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 05:22 PM   #9
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cascadia View Post
@samc, what would you do differently?
I had a short piece of 1/2 ss tube welded into the lid. Then I attached a longer tube with some silicone tubing as a hinge point. The Therm sits inside of all of that. Too complex for what I needed. I would just order a longer probe (Derrin @ http://www.brewershardware.com/12-Temperature-Sensor-for-BCS-460.html) and drill a smaller hole in the lid or run the cable through the PRV hole. You can just cover the cable with some Silicone tubing.
__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2011, 07:47 PM   #10
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

The easiest way, I would think, would be to just drill a hole, install a grommet, and slide a long turkey fryer thermometer through the grommet.
It should be relatively air tight, removable (So you can still tip the corny lid to get it out), and best of all, cost about $0.10



__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermowell questions. bad coffee DIY Projects 22 01-17-2011 01:12 PM
Max. Thermowell diameter Bru DIY Projects 2 08-26-2010 12:01 PM
Fermenter Thermowell Hogcrewer DIY Projects 5 08-01-2010 01:45 PM
Thermowell ggltd DIY Projects 1 11-09-2009 07:51 PM
Aluminum thermowell? Highlandsbrew DIY Projects 1 08-15-2009 02:32 PM