Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Weekend to Enter!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Control Panel Wiring Question
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2010, 03:22 AM   #1
JMichael
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 49
Default Control Panel Wiring Question

I have two auber syl-2342 PID controllers, two chugger pumps from usa pumps (same as March 809, got two stainless for $250 here ) and two STC 2w160 solenoid valves.

Here is a drawing of how I believe I should wire everything into a control panel. I'm not an electrician, or artist, but this is what I have figured out by reading threads here and other online forums. Can you guys take a look at this and tell me if this will work? Also, if I wanted to add fuses would that be done by putting the fuse in the neutral line to the object I want to protect?

I thought I would use terminal strips to help keep things organized. I added a small one for a ground since the pumps have three wires. Is my thinking correct on this too?

What kind of testing equipment should I be using to test these connections before plugging this thing into a power source?

my-brewstand-wiring.jpg  
__________________
JMichael is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2010, 02:20 PM   #2
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMichael View Post
I have two auber syl-2342 PID controllers, two chugger pumps from usa pumps (same as March 809, got two stainless for $250 here ) and two STC 2w160 solenoid valves.

Here is a drawing of how I believe I should wire everything into a control panel. I'm not an electrician, or artist, but this is what I have figured out by reading threads here and other online forums. Can you guys take a look at this and tell me if this will work? Also, if I wanted to add fuses would that be done by putting the fuse in the neutral line to the object I want to protect?

I thought I would use terminal strips to help keep things organized. I added a small one for a ground since the pumps have three wires. Is my thinking correct on this too?

What kind of testing equipment should I be using to test these connections before plugging this thing into a power source?
First - ALWAYS fuse the HOT wire. And I'd fuse each component coming from your main feed, as well as the main feed itself.

Your 3-way switch is actually a 2-way switch in your drawing. It connectes the valve to either the PID or the power.
I would make it a 3-way switch - "ON - OFF - PID"
As you have it drawn, if the PID says the valve should be on, you have no way to shut it off! That could get hairy in a hurry if something is going wrong.

Edit - Never mind - I see it now!

For testing, Put a meter where the valve is supposed to go, and where the pump is supposed to go. Make sure that power is there when you think it should be before you hook it up to the gas.

I'm no expert - So take all that FWIW
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!

SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2010, 02:45 PM   #3
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts

Default

Another "non-expert" input:
Logic looks good to me.
As mentioned, make sure everything is properly fused and grounded.

Edit: I'm not familiar with that Auber PID... put assuming it is wired correctly, then logic looks good.

__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2010, 03:02 PM   #4
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio-Ed View Post
Another "non-expert" input:
Logic looks good to me.
As mentioned, make sure everything is properly fused and grounded.

Edit: I'm not familiar with that Auber PID... put assuming it is wired correctly, then logic looks good.
I checked - OP's got it right...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2010, 05:31 PM   #5
JMichael
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 49
Default

Thanks for the response guys. Hopefully, I'll have time to work on this some tonight. Not too much more left to do to get brewing on the new system.

__________________
JMichael is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2010, 05:27 PM   #6
JMichael
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 49
Default fuse blocks or fuse holder

What type of fuse block of fuse holders should I look at? In line, single, block? What amp volts?

__________________
JMichael is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2010, 05:54 PM   #7
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMichael View Post
What type of fuse block of fuse holders should I look at? In line, single, block? What amp volts?
Volts * Amps = Watts

So a 5500 watt element at 220 volts will draw 5500/220=25 amps.

My 110v March 809 says 1.4 amps on the motor, so I would install a 1.5 Amp Slo-Blow fuse or breaker.
I don't know the specs on the valve, you'd have to look them up. It'll give you the information you seek
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!

SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2010, 07:08 PM   #8
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts

Default

Jmichael,

If you haven't already, Please read:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/elec...rewers-145019/

Make sure you have a good grasp of what you are doing and WHY you're doing it, before you start wiring things up.

Please don't take offense but some of your questions make me a bit nervous.

IMO, you have a decent drawing to start with from a logical perspective.

Sizing the components/wire and proper intallation is critical. If done incorrectly, best case; you damage the equipment, worst case; you electrocute yourself (or someone else), or cause a fire.

__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2010, 07:55 PM   #9
JMichael
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio-Ed View Post
Jmichael,

If you haven't already, Please read:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/elec...rewers-145019/

Make sure you have a good grasp of what you are doing and WHY you're doing it, before you start wiring things up.

Please don't take offense but some of your questions make me a bit nervous.

IMO, you have a decent drawing to start with from a logical perspective.

Sizing the components/wire and proper intallation is critical. If done incorrectly, best case; you damage the equipment, worst case; you electrocute yourself (or someone else), or cause a fire.

No offense taken. I have very little experience with electical wiring. Trust me, I won't even cut a wire, or attempt to put power to anything until I at least half way know what I am doing and why. That's why I'm asking questions.
__________________
JMichael is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2010, 08:04 PM   #10
JMichael
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetSounds View Post
Volts * Amps = Watts

So a 5500 watt element at 220 volts will draw 5500/220=25 amps.

My 110v March 809 says 1.4 amps on the motor, so I would install a 1.5 Amp fuse or breaker.
I don't know the specs on the valve, you'd have to look them up. It'll give you the information you seek

Thanks SweetS.

The volts are listed on both the pumps and the valves but I couldn't find the amps listed anywhere. The PID documentation tells what fuses to use. I don't have the docs infront of me right now so I can't quote what amp but they do say use a slow burning. Although, I did read in the primer thread (I think) that the fast burning fuse should be used instead. So, I'll need to look at that a bit further.
__________________
JMichael is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control panel wiring help NinjaJoe DIY Projects 6 03-26-2010 02:58 AM
Control Panel Question I_B_Mongo Equipment/Sanitation 3 12-22-2009 07:12 PM
Control Panel Wiring Moldymonte DIY Projects 1 12-03-2009 09:46 AM
Control panel question ILOVEBEER DIY Projects 12 10-07-2009 01:16 PM
Brutus Control Panel Wiring Gordie Equipment/Sanitation 13 12-02-2008 04:24 PM