New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > capacitor to motor or mill - wiring help




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 01:51 AM   #1
kegtoe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kegtoe's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: I Fall MN
Posts: 1,298
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default capacitor to motor or mill - wiring help

I'm not real savy with wireing a capacitor. I have a small 2 amp, 170 RPM gear motor for my mill. It came with a capacitor. I'd like to have 2 switches, one for on/off, and the other for for/rev. I know i run the ground and the neutral directly to the motor. The black (hot) is run directly to one of the 2 remaining wires on the motor and the other needs to be connected via the capacitor? Is this correct?

How about if i want ot do the switch method that i talked about? Do i Hook up both wires from the capacitor to both leads on the motor wiht a 3-way switch that moves power from the hot to either of the wires on the capacitor.



kegtoe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 01:58 AM   #2
P-J
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,154
Liked 234 Times on 188 Posts
Likes Given: 398

Default

All of this really depends on the motor you are using. Ok... What motor? Do you have a link to it?



__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 02:12 AM   #3
kegtoe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kegtoe's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: I Fall MN
Posts: 1,298
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

https://www.surpluscenter.com/item.asp?catname=&qty=1&item=5-1098



kegtoe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 02:16 AM   #4
sjlammer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 576
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I have this motor and wired it. I can send you my sketch tomorrow.

You can use an ON-OFF-ON switch to eliminate the need for two switches.

__________________
~"A fine beer may be judged with only one sip, but it's better to be thoroughly sure.”

On Deck: Spruce APA, Chambord Fortified Chocolate Porter, Imperial IPA

Primary:
Primary:
Secondary: Belgian Dark Strong Ale
Conical:
Lagering: None
Kegged/Drinking: Cascade, Cent., Amarillo Pale Ale
Kegged/Drinking: Belgian Pale Ale (HG yeast for yeast cropping see above)
Bottled: ESB
sjlammer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 02:21 AM   #5
kegtoe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kegtoe's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: I Fall MN
Posts: 1,298
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

thanks,

kegtoe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 02:28 AM   #6
misterVT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Aldie, VA
Posts: 122
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Hey kegtoe, glad to see you're moving forward with motorizing your mill. I set up the same motor for CW rotation and followed the same wiring diagram you have. I put my switch on neutral between the motor and the power cord. I ran the blue wire to one of the capacitor pins. It shows up red in the photo because I used a red wire to extend the blue motor wire to the capacitor. I used 12 - 10 gauge AMP female disconnects to connect to the capacitor plug. Then I connected the black wire from the motor to the opposite capacitor pin set with the same kind of connector. Finally I took the black wire from the power cord and connected it to the same pin set on the capacitor that the black wire from the motor is attached to. I'm not great with wiring diagrams, but this fired up on my first shot.


I also found this wiring diagram that Henrythe9th posted in another thread if you want to set up CW and CCW.

__________________
misterVT is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 02:56 AM   #7
kegtoe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kegtoe's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: I Fall MN
Posts: 1,298
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Thanks mister, i gues i'm not sure on how/what a capacitor does and works. If i want to have the for/rev that i'm looking for do i run the hot to each set on the capacitor, then the lead to each of the motor leads. ORRRRR, do i run two hots to one set and two leads to the oter set?

__________________
Nate's Keezer Project
Bag in a Turkey fryer method - hybrid
Fermentation Chamber
Motorized my grain mill
kegtoe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 03:06 AM   #8
kegtoe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kegtoe's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: I Fall MN
Posts: 1,298
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Does this look correct? The first switch would be an on/of the second being forward, reverse. I want the 2 switches, not a on(for)/off/on(rev)

__________________
Nate's Keezer Project
Bag in a Turkey fryer method - hybrid
Fermentation Chamber
Motorized my grain mill
kegtoe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 03:32 AM   #9
misterVT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Aldie, VA
Posts: 122
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

A capacitor stores a charge that helps get the motor running. I'm sure there's a better description out there. For both CW and CCW it looks like you wire up the capacitor where both blue and black wires from the motor terminate on opposite pins of the capacitor, then you run separate blue and black from the remaining pins to your toggle switch. Blue for CCW position and black for CW position. Hot (black) from your power cord should terminate with the toggle switch. Neutral (white) from the motor will simply connect to neutral from your power cord. All the toggle switch does is switch what starter winding leads are used which as I understand it, determines which direction the motor turns. Keep in mind, I'm no electrician.

__________________
misterVT is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 01:50 PM   #10
P-J
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,154
Liked 234 Times on 188 Posts
Likes Given: 398

Default

I made up a diagram for you using 2 switches - 1 for motor direction and the other On/Off:



I also made a diagram using a single switch - It is a "Center Off" switch:



BTW: I left the Surplus Center info in place so that others can identify the motor that the diagram was drawn for.

I hope this helps you.


__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorize Mill - Which Motor/Setup? HELP! 1brewerswife DIY Projects 17 10-16-2013 01:50 PM
Motor wiring confusion ubermick DIY Projects 28 07-24-2010 10:31 PM
Motor good for grain mill? Mose DIY Projects 11 03-25-2010 05:33 PM
Motor for Grain Mill Sawdustguy DIY Projects 43 10-26-2009 01:41 PM
wiring new plug/cord on salvaged washer motor? hexmonkey DIY Projects 8 11-11-2008 12:06 AM