The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Building Mill! However...general Milling question...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2010, 02:03 PM   #31
Brewmoor
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 13

I think you will be fine with the 1/4hp motor. That is the size I went with and that thing is a monster. Once it is geared down it will have plenty of power. I have seen 1/8 hp capacitor start motors work well. I think the key is getting that thing started. Getting a Capacitor start motor will help get full hopper moving with that little extra umph at the start.

The 1/3 HP motor that ubermick posted would be a great motor too.

Both of those motors spin at 1725 rpm which is the same speed I have from mine. I went with 10" pully for the mill and 2 1/4" on the motor. That works out to roughly about 350 rpm about a 5 to 1 reduction. I got my sheaves from McMaster Carr. I can give you part numbers if you want.

"What the mind can conceive and believe, the mind can achieve."

My build thread. Compact Single Tier!

Last edited by Brewmoor; 08-06-2010 at 02:07 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2010, 03:16 PM   #32
ubermick
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanGC View Post
But by slowing down the RPMs (pulleys, wheels, etc), doesn't this increase your torque?
As Cat mentioned, it would give you an increase in torque, but the original motor in question (the 177RPM gearmotor from Surplus Direct) wouldn't be using pulleys, since it's right at the RPMs you want already. Gearing it down would increase the torque, but make it run ooooooh sooooo slooooooowlyyyy....