Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brutus 10 Clone Control Panel Help Please...
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2010, 11:19 PM   #1
rlhvegas
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rlhvegas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 152
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Brutus 10 Clone Control Panel Help Please...

Hello All,

I'm in the process of putting together a Brutus 10 clone. I'm working on the control panel and have an issue... I'm using Lonnie's plans order from BYO. I've included a picture of my progress so far... I'm using Lonnie's idea of having a Hot, Neutral and Ground bus as distribution points. In the pic I have a Main power chord coming in from the bottom left. A main power switch wired in. I think I have grounded everything properly... however every time I plug the power in it trips the breaker! I've checked over the wiring and to my limited knowledge I think I have wired it correctly... guess not! Please help!

Link to my pic:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/49428398@N06/?saved=1

__________________
No Limit Brewing
Redefining Las Vegas Craft Beer - a grassroots movement

http://www.facebook.com/nolimitbrewing
rlhvegas is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2010, 01:29 AM   #2
rhutter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Carroll County, MD
Posts: 184
Default

Do you have all the components wired into the terminal blocks at this point, or is it still just like the picture? Looks like your ground is going from the terminal block into the main power switch, is that true? If so I think that's your problem - the switch for the main power should just be the hot wire coming out of the main power cord and then entering the hot bus.

__________________
rhutter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2010, 03:13 AM   #3
rlhvegas
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rlhvegas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 152
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

The pic may be a little confusing, here's what I've got. Yes the pic shows what is hooked up at this point. I wanted to get the main power switch and terminal blocks ready for components to be plugged in. I have the main power chord coming in from the bottom, the black "hot" goes to the "power" terminal on the switch, the power chords neutral goes to the neutral terminal block, and the power chords ground goes to the ground terminal block. From the switch I have the "Acces" terminal going to the "hot" terminal block. with this configuration the switch seems to work fine. I have a test light hooked up to the hot and neutral terminal blocks, and when I flip the switch, the light goes on! However, the problem is with the ground terminal on the switch, whether I connect it to the ground terminal, or the ground screw directly it will pop my breaker when I flip the switch! From my understanding I must hook up the ground on the switch in order for the LED to come on... By the way I left out the fact that I have a ground wire leading from the ground terminal block to a ground screw in the project box.

__________________
No Limit Brewing
Redefining Las Vegas Craft Beer - a grassroots movement

http://www.facebook.com/nolimitbrewing
rlhvegas is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2010, 03:24 AM   #4
BlackTieBrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 145
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

I agree with rhutter, in my panel there are no grounds on any switches so I'm pretty sure that's your problem.

__________________
BlackTieBrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2010, 03:32 AM   #5
rlhvegas
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rlhvegas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 152
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

If I don't use the ground post on the switch it works fine, however the led light on the tip of the switch does not illuminate... my understanding is the the ground post must be used on the switch if you want the led to illuminate... is this true?

__________________
No Limit Brewing
Redefining Las Vegas Craft Beer - a grassroots movement

http://www.facebook.com/nolimitbrewing
rlhvegas is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2010, 11:33 PM   #6
rhutter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Carroll County, MD
Posts: 184
Default

How many terminals are on your switch? What model is it? I only have experience with switches for my panel that had two posts - one for each side of the hot wire as that's the only thing you're shutting off.

I would think if anything it would need hot and neutral to make the LED light up, not hot and ground...

__________________
rhutter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2010, 01:23 AM   #7
Lonnie Mac
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bacliff, TX
Posts: 326
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Well your panel certainly looks good!

So, a bit more detail on the switch would be very helpful.

__________________

Lonnie Mac...
President of the Brutus Ten cult!

Lonnie Mac is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2010, 02:18 AM   #8
BucksPA
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bucks, PA
Posts: 443
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

just do what i did. it works great!!!!

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=14jn69l&s=5

crap man....the electrical was the hardest part for me. Mine looks like a war zone, but it works. my main power switch has 2 posts, one goes to the power cord, and the other goes to the hot bus. thus, flipping the switch cuts power. green wire from power cord goes directly to ground bus. remember, you only have to break the circuit on wire, not all wires. for me, i broke the hot wires where i had to.

my work is sloppy, but it hasnt had any problems yet

__________________

40 Gallons brewed in 2013....and counting
33 Gallons brewed in 2012
159 Gallons brewed in 2011

My Brutus 10


Last edited by BucksPA; 04-20-2010 at 02:25 AM.
BucksPA is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2010, 02:59 AM   #9
rlhvegas
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rlhvegas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 152
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks Lonnie for the compliment, you truly are an inspiration! Also thanks to all for the replies so far... I'm almost embarrased to admit this, but I think my problem lies in the switch I picked... It says 12vdc on it

A lighting engineer at my work says that the switch is the problem. He thinks I fused the terminals together inside the switch when I put power to it.

Tomorrow I'm going to me local electrical store and buying the correct switches and trying again! I will post pics soon of the rest of my build.

__________________
No Limit Brewing
Redefining Las Vegas Craft Beer - a grassroots movement

http://www.facebook.com/nolimitbrewing
rlhvegas is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2010, 11:55 PM   #10
weizen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central Va
Posts: 79
Default

rlhvegas, looks to me that you are using a 12vdc toggle to switch 120vac. Is that the same as this toggle switch http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062493 ? Looks just like the one I use http://i893.photobucket.com/albums/a...ntrolpanel.jpg

__________________
weizen is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Panel shawnguinn DIY Projects 25 07-11-2010 04:01 PM
My BCS-460 control panel Budzu DIY Projects 6 04-05-2010 03:34 AM
Brutus Control Panel Wiring Gordie Equipment/Sanitation 13 12-02-2008 04:24 PM
brutus control panel thooper41 Equipment/Sanitation 3 10-07-2008 11:50 PM
Control Panel twhite315@gmail.com All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 1 05-09-2008 07:33 PM