Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brewtroller help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2012, 03:01 AM   #11
jpalarchio
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 509
Liked 40 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

kladue, I generally get about 65% of what you're talking about but it usually points me in the right direction...

Curious as to your thoughts on using the one-wire temperature sensors over something like the LM34? Is one better than the other? Given that I'm working on the Arduino platform, obviously the support is there for both. I started with the one-wire sensors way back then because I had some from another project and I guess I've just got used to them.

The volume measurement seems to me the big piece that provides added value and unfortunately seems cost prohibitive. I've been trying to think of other methods such as reading a float within my sight gauge but most ideal would be a stainless sensor I could just attach to the vessel.

Flow sensors aren't of that much interest to me. I have a few Swissflow sensors that I measure my RO system efficiency with but I'm not sure I'd want to deal with them in a brewing application.

__________________
jpalarchio is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 11:39 AM   #12
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,306
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts

Default

The one wire sensors have merit, but the response time is the main issue with control applications. The sensor I was looking at is the AD22100AT in a TO-82 package. With the app and boards I can scan all 8 analog inputs faster than one of the one wire sensors will respond to request for data.

__________________
kladue is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 12:57 PM   #13
CCBrewer
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Texas
Posts: 737
Liked 32 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

high temp float sensors do not over think it guys. float sensors have been used since the toilet

__________________

Primary1: Apfelwein (11/18/11)
Keg-1: SNPA 1/6
Keg-6: Soda Water
Thinking: Bavarian Hefeweizen, Centennial Blonde,
Swmbo Slayer,
MEADS LOTS

CCBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 01:27 PM   #14
jpalarchio
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 509
Liked 40 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCBrewer View Post
high temp float sensors do not over think it guys. float sensors have been used since the toilet
Not sure a toilet float has the type of resolution I'm looking for...
__________________
jpalarchio is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 04:09 PM   #15
LordUlrich
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 540
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

You could take the float and connect it to a pot and get pretty good resolution. Although you will need to garuntee a enough space for it to swing and use a copper or stainless float.

__________________

Don't take any more faith in anything I say than you would anyone else on the internet. If you listen to what I say, then hurt your self or break something it is your own fault, I am just expressing my opinion or experience.
THINK for your self!!

LordUlrich is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2012, 05:37 AM   #16
kevin509
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 161
Liked 9 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I liked the web UI of the BCS system but not having to actually program processes, at least with the basic brewtroller you just plug it time and temps. BCS required a lot of extra circuitry where the brewtroller allows LEDs and switches to simply connect to the main board or relay boards. Even the e stop switch is simplified.

__________________
kevin509 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2012, 11:50 AM   #17
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,306
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts

Default

The brewtroller is probably the most capable of the two, and gets better support from the builders. The brewtroller would let you start with the basics and let you add additional levels of control later, and is so much more than just the auber PID's that most use.
I do process instrumentation and have a pretty good understanding of what is needed in sensors and control devices for automation, and have sufficient skills in fabrication, electronics, and programming to create control systems. After building a nearly totally automated system, there is a better understanding of what works and what doesn't that would save time for others trying to build automated systems.

__________________
kladue is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2012, 01:04 PM   #18
pickles
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
pickles's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus
Posts: 1,974
Liked 48 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Guys, could we move this discussion to the Automated Forum Section please

__________________
Gaptooth Brewhouse
pickles is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2012, 03:21 PM   #19
jpalarchio
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Holly, MI
Posts: 509
Liked 40 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pickles View Post
guys, could we move this discussion to the automated forum section please
+1
__________________
jpalarchio is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2012, 09:06 PM   #20
kevin509
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 161
Liked 9 Times on 4 Posts

Default

iPhone app not showing "automated" forum or the ability to move the thread??

__________________
kevin509 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools