The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brewery Wiring Diagram, I need your thoughts!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2009, 05:57 PM   #1
HarvInSTL
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Brewery Wiring Diagram, I need your thoughts!

Ok, here is what I had a chance to sketch up this morning. I want to preface this by saying that I am not an electrician and I plan on having an electrician review my work before anything is turned on/plugged in or used.

The Neutral Bus, 3 pole distribution block, SPST's, DPST's and SSR's will all be housed in a junction box. The pumps and kettles will plug into the control box via L6-30 (elements) and L5-15 (pumps) twist lock receptacles and plugs. These are not in the diagram, but will be soon.

The control box will plug into the 14-50 receptacle via a 14-50 plug. And the 14-50 receptacle will be wired to the 50A GFCI breaker. I opted against separate breakers for the elements and 110 stuff because this will be connected less than 10 feet from my load center and the added cost didn't seem needed to save walking an extra 4 feet to kill power if needed. If anyone can provide a compelling argument against this I will more than consider it.

So far everything has been purchased except the junction box and the GFCI breaker. Still holding out to find a decent deal on those.

Thoughts?

Secondary: 9/9/9/-My version, Carbernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Raspberry Melomel

On deck: Tripel, 5 day IPA Squared, White Russian Imperial Stout

Live in Saint Louis, MO? Then check out www.stlbrews.org and www.garagebrewers.com

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2009, 07:26 PM   #2
Gussymo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Are youe using the Auber PID's?

Old 03-27-2009, 07:31 PM   #3
Gussymo

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

The reason I asked if it was Auber is because I have mine powered with