Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Auber SYL-2352 Basic Help for first timer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2010, 06:39 PM   #1
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default Auber SYL-2352 Basic Help for first timer

I have the SYL-2352 PID Controller hooked up to RTD and SSR. They are hooked up correctly to my knowledge.

I have power running off a switch into 7 & 8
SSR is hooked up to 9 & 10 from terminal 4 & 3 on the SSR
RTD is - White wire #5, RED to #3 & #4


When I power the unit on my PV= 1257 My SV=50

I set it to Auto-tune ( I think) and it should be measuring ambient temperature.

Can someone walk me through exactly what they would do if they powered this thing up for the first time with an RTD connected. My device does not show a SSR is connect nor does the red LED on the SSR light up either.

Thanks

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 06:43 PM   #2
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 29 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger9913 View Post
I have the SYL-2352 PID Controller hooked up to RTD and SSR. They are hooked up correctly to my knowledge.

I have power running off a switch into 7 & 8
SSR is hooked up to 9 & 10 from terminal 4 & 3 on the SSR
RTD is - White wire #5, RED to #3 & #4


When I power the unit on my PV= 1257 My SV=50

I set it to Auto-tune ( I think) and it should be measuring ambient temperature.

Can someone walk me through exactly what they would do if they powered this thing up for the first time with an RTD connected. My device does not show a SSR is connect nor does the red LED on the SSR light up either.

Thanks
Well, first things first. Your PV is way off. Swap #3 and #5

Edit- Is this being used to cool or heat?
__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 06:50 PM   #3
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 29 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

NM, looking at the manual you have the RTD wired right. It is set up wrong in the configs.

Change the Sn parameter to 21.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 06:57 PM   #4
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

wow as soon as i did that it's reading 64* which is true. Also it clicked over to A/m with the green light.

This means I'm now on Auto right?

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 07:04 PM   #5
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 29 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

If the A/M light is on then it is in Auto.

What are you using it for?

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 07:07 PM   #6
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

right now I'm using just to test my connections and power is correct. I was going to setup a light socket with a bulb and use it to simulate a heater element. I have a coffee cup warmer that I was going to put the probe in and try and get it to cycle.

Good/Bad Idea? Can I run this setup in manual mode to simulate a boil?

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 07:12 PM   #7
bendavanza
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oak CLiff, TX
Posts: 2,348
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I'll be reading this closely as I ordered the exact same things to run my new-to-me RIMS tube.

__________________
bendavanza is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 07:25 PM   #8
Grimster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 506
Liked 19 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Is this the same or similar equipment as in the bling bling thread? I currently have a 5500W element installed into my 10G SS cooker and I'm getting ready to setup the PID/SSR/etc when I actually order them that is so I'm kinda keeping my eye on any threads dealing with it.

__________________
Grimster is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 07:28 PM   #9
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Ok I went ahead with my lightbulb test and it worked perfectly. My ambient temp was 64* and I set the PID to 75* and the light bulb turned on. When the water in my coffee cup rose to 76* it cycled off the light. Obviously for someone who understand a PID controller this is laughable but for just reading about PID's for the first time last weekend I feel like this really helped me understand the process.


CodeRage how did you know to set the Sn to 21?

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 07:31 PM   #10
Ranger9913
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashville
Posts: 299
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Yes I'm copying the bling bling thread part for part.

__________________
Ranger9913 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring 240V Auber SYL-2352 for electric keggle... zinger084 Equipment/Sanitation 14 10-03-2010 04:18 AM
Auber instraments?? kickflip_mj Equipment/Sanitation 3 03-31-2010 06:14 PM
Auber 2352 Settings cheesecake DIY Projects 12 01-27-2010 03:40 PM
Auber PID SYL-2352 undocumented bug passedpawn DIY Projects 10 11-06-2009 06:45 PM
PROPS to AUBER INST. The Pol Equipment/Sanitation 4 12-19-2008 12:31 AM