The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > aquarium temp control thermostat question

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2012, 06:05 PM   #1
IPAguy89
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Amherst, NH
Posts: 12
Likes Given: 1

Default aquarium temp control thermostat question

I searched through a number of the aquarium temp control builds, and in every one it is wired into a outlet. is there a reason i can't just connect the two wires that go to the thermostat to the same two points that would be wired to the outlet and achieve the same effect. In fact this seems like it would be much easier?

__________________
IPAguy89 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2012, 06:34 PM   #2
Homercidal
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Reed City, MI
Posts: 22,837
Liked 1900 Times on 1371 Posts
Likes Given: 1045

Default

It would be fine, but I think most people wire outlets because they make plugging anything into them a nice convenience.

Most fridges, etc already have a cord that plugs right in. There is no reason you can't wire it directly to the appropriate wires inside the fridge.

__________________
Homercidal is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2012, 06:54 PM   #3
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 15,852
Liked 3196 Times on 3101 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

You'd want to wire the thermostat wires to the two switch terminals on the controller, not to the ones that go to the outlet. Then you'd still need to supply power to the controller. Not sure that it's any easier, and a lot of people like the idea of a self contained controller. Some people also use the controllers for sous vide, smokers, and other things when it's not in use controlling the fridge.

__________________
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 12:52 AM   #4
IPAguy89
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Amherst, NH
Posts: 12
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks for the help, also the inside light is not connected, i bet i could wire the power cord for the light to power the controller. yes/no?

__________________
IPAguy89 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2012, 02:01 PM   #5
Homercidal
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Reed City, MI
Posts: 22,837
Liked 1900 Times on 1371 Posts
Likes Given: 1045

Default

Probably. Do you have a volt meter to test it with??

__________________
Homercidal is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ebay Aquarium Temp Question autobaun70 DIY Projects 7 06-19-2011 12:39 AM
Control 12V w/ Ebay Aquarium Controller? autobaun70 DIY Projects 5 01-27-2011 02:23 PM
2 Stage Temp Control Question Groo DIY Projects 5 12-28-2010 03:32 AM
Keezer Temp Control Question cdubbaya DIY Projects 4 11-20-2010 12:55 AM
Question on control fermentation temp. DudeBrew DIY Projects 2 05-06-2009 07:04 PM



Newest Threads