Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Anyone out there recalibrate their Keezer?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2010, 11:10 PM   #1
Yankeehillbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yankee Hill, CA
Posts: 1,541
Liked 26 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default Anyone out there recalibrate their Keezer?

I know it's possible to recalibrate the temps on a freezer. Just curious if anyone on here has done that. I found a little bit of stuff online, and it sounds as simple as adjusting a screw, but that seems a little too good to be true. I have a GE 7.0 cu ft. I'll be building a shell around this thing, plus I still have to get all my taps,more kegs,Co2, etc. So if I can keep the cost down a little without ruining the freezer I'd like to at least give it a shot.

Thanks

__________________

Kegged:DIPA,Pumpkin Stout,,Munich Helles, Chinook/Simcoe/Citra/Amarillo IPA

Bottled: Blackberry Mead
Primary #1:Mosaic IPA
Primary #2:
Secondary:
On Deck:APA,RIS,AB Clone

Yankeehillbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 01:13 AM   #2
Yankeehillbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yankee Hill, CA
Posts: 1,541
Liked 26 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

I'll take that as a no.

__________________

Kegged:DIPA,Pumpkin Stout,,Munich Helles, Chinook/Simcoe/Citra/Amarillo IPA

Bottled: Blackberry Mead
Primary #1:Mosaic IPA
Primary #2:
Secondary:
On Deck:APA,RIS,AB Clone

Yankeehillbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 01:38 AM   #3
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

If you mean buying a new thermostat (with higher temp set points) and replacing the existing one, yes you could do that. Better off buying a Johnson, Ranco or Love controller and maintaining the correct temps that way.

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 05:30 AM   #4
Yankeehillbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Yankee Hill, CA
Posts: 1,541
Liked 26 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

I mean adjusting the freezers stock thermostat for higher temps.

__________________

Kegged:DIPA,Pumpkin Stout,,Munich Helles, Chinook/Simcoe/Citra/Amarillo IPA

Bottled: Blackberry Mead
Primary #1:Mosaic IPA
Primary #2:
Secondary:
On Deck:APA,RIS,AB Clone

Yankeehillbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 05:55 AM   #5
wildwest450
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 163 Times on 149 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankeehillbrewer View Post
I mean adjusting the freezers stock thermostat for higher temps.
I don't believe that's possible. I know some kegerators have an adjustment screw that will lower their temps a bit. I can't see being able to adjust a freezers temp up 30 degrees or more.
__________________
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 06:14 AM   #6
eriktlupus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
eriktlupus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cereal City, USA
Posts: 2,648
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Default

yeah your going to have to either buy an external controller like a ranco/johnson etc or find a vending service tech and get a different internal thermostat.

__________________

primary1 :UTOPIA BABY(still searching for it)
secondary:middling bastard ipa
kegged:simcoe blonde, crystal pale ale, yellow jacket golden ale, lemon shandy blonde
DRINKIN DAWG BREWERY
LET'S GO RED WINGS


join michigan mashers here

extraction calculator
grains in pounds(G) X 36(average points per gallon of grains) / batch size in gallons(g) = maximum efficiency(ME)
OG / ME = brewhouse efficiency

eriktlupus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 01:34 PM   #7
ajwillys
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 1,315
Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

Mine has a screw to adjust the temps. The warmest temp is way too cold. Like everyone said, I think you will need to buy an external controller or replace the internal thermostat.

__________________
ajwillys is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 02:05 PM   #8
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 29 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

It wont hurt to try and adjust it up all the way. Put a glass of water in there or something so you can test the running temp after a couple of hours. Mine had a dial instead of a screw and it was still way too cold.

The thermostats you find in there are mechanical and rely on the pressure in a capillary tube to fire the compressor. So you don't have the kind of range you normally do with an electrical thermostat.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 02:07 PM   #9
wildwest450
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 163 Times on 149 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeRage View Post
It wont hurt to try and adjust it up all the way.
It won't hurt, but it will be a waste of time. You'll never get it above freezing without an external controller.
__________________
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2010, 02:09 PM   #10
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 29 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwest450 View Post
It won't hurt, but it will be a waste of time. You'll never get it above freezing without an external controller.
Yeah, some people need to see thing to believe it.
__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My new Keezer SporkD2 DIY Projects 5 10-16-2009 09:49 AM
CO2 in or out of keezer? HOP-HEAD Bottling/Kegging 4 10-06-2009 04:41 AM
My keezer stokems Home Brewing Photo Forum 2 10-03-2009 12:19 PM
What if you don't have a keezer? heywolfie1015 General Beer Discussion 8 10-01-2009 04:47 PM
Recalibrate hydrometer? drunkatuw Equipment/Sanitation 3 10-25-2007 03:43 PM