Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Anyone care to explain automated brewing?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2011, 03:07 AM   #1
tedclev
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Anyone care to explain automated brewing?

I've been reading a fair bit about PID and fuzzy logic controllers recently and am trying to picture how it all works. In my head, I'm thinking of how to make a single tier brewsystem with temp control of the HLT and MLT, something similar to Sabco's BrewMagic. I've seen some pretty snazzy fully auto brew systems out there, but I'm picturing something much more basic. I have zero experience with automation and don't know where I would begin. Also, I'm having trouble finding any threads on this topic that start at the absolute basics. I think what baffles me the most is this- I understand the concept of a controller, but how does it control the flame? I of course understand how I turn a knob and get more or less flame, but how does a controller do it? Any info or links to relevant threads would be very helpful. Cheers

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2011, 03:43 AM   #2
dallasdb
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 53 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 17

I don't know either... but doesn't automation take the fun out of brewing?

Yesterday I threw in .5 oz of Hallertau 10 min at the end of my boil and forgot to stir. Some got scorched the bottom but that's what I get for brewing after 11 hours of landscaping!

My pipeline ran out and I was desperate.

Old 05-02-2011, 03:44 AM   #3
JonW
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 93 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 36