Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > 1/2" wort chiller from straight copper pipe?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2012, 03:47 AM   #1
xxllmm4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default 1/2" wort chiller from straight copper pipe?

Hey everyone,

Well I think its about time I made a wort chiller. I have been brewing off and on for about 20 years now. Anyway I was thinking of making a wort chiller from 1/2 straight pipe (not the soft copper) and using elbows, elbows are only $6.39 for a 10 pack at lowes and I have 4 new sticks of 1/2" in my garage.

I'm sure someone along the way has done this but I cant seem to find any pictures. If anyone has some ideas or pictures pleas post them.

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2012, 04:03 AM   #2
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 978 Times on 653 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Sure it can be done but you'll use a lot of elbows. I'm pretty good at sweating joints but I wouldn't want to prep 30 joints. Figure 12 pieces cut to 10" per stick for 3 "coils" and if you want to use all four stick, that's 48 elbows and 96 joints. No thanks. I've be all over a 1/2 x 50' coil.

Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?

Old 02-20-2012, 04:18 AM   #3
kmk1012
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

If you want something that no one else has then do it. It does seem like a lot of extra work but, to each their own.

Old 02-20-2012, 04:19 AM   #4
klyph
Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 3

More work than it's worth. And probably more expensive once you factor in the cost of solder, flux, brushes, propane, etc.

Primary: saison
Secondary: nada
Conditioning: macaroon stout