Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Commercial Brew Discussion > Skunked Saison Dupont?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2008, 11:34 PM   #1
Edcculus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 40 Times on 37 Posts

Default Skunked Saison Dupont?

While shopping at the local health food store (Earth Fare) I noticed they had Saison Dupont and Hennepin. Since I've never tried the saison style before, I decided to pick up both. While cooking dinner, I popped the Dupont. My first impression was that it was a very tasty beer and stood up to the taste descriptions I've read about the style. After a few more sips I started registering a skunk-ish taste/smell. I thought, maybe its supposed to be like that. Since this beer is so highly acclaimed, I drank 2 glasses.

To make sure I wasn't crazy, I opened the Hennepin. No detection of skunkiness here. Crisp, dry and spicy.

Has anyone come across a skunked Saison Dupont? It comes in a green bottle, which is the reason I'm suspecting UV damage. This is nowhere near as bad as the Old Speckled Hen I had a few months ago(clear bottle ).

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2008, 11:37 PM   #2
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 621 Times on 387 Posts
Likes Given: 56

The only one I ever had wasn't skunked at all. I'm guessing you got a bad bottle. Whenever I'm buying beer in green bottles, I always reach to the back/bottom of the display.

Old 08-11-2008, 11:40 PM   #3
carnevoodoo
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 5

The other question I'd have is that if it tasted fine when you started drinking it, were you anywhere near sunlight? Putting your beer in direct sun can skunk beer in less than a minute. I'm assuming you just got a bad bottle, but the potential to have your beer skunk in the glass is there too.

Old 08-11-2008, 11:51 PM   #4
Edcculus
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnevoodoo View Post