Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Commercial Brew Discussion > Making the jump to commercial

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2008, 08:14 PM   #1
bernerbrau
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default Making the jump to commercial

So, the second I started homebrew, my mom started asking if I was going to open up a brewery.

I brushed it off at first but then I thought that would be an interesting retirement plan. Quit software development by the time I'm 40 and just make beer and live off the profits. Oh, and finally finish developing the computer game I've been working on since high school!!

I figure, I'm 27 now. I have 10 years of homebrewing experience to get under my belt, during which time, as I get better, I can generate word of mouth about my beer, immerse myself in the local homebrew community, enter homebrew competetions, etc.

Then, at 37, I hire an accountant (whom I bribe with free beer, obviously) to help with the business aspect, rent out a downtown storefront, interview and hire pub employees, and open up shop. I have 3 years of part-time brewing while holding down a day job, then I retire and go full-time as a commercial brewer.

So, I googled several forms of "brewer's license" "commercial brewing", etc. but my normally faithful friend is turning up irrelevant results. Can people in the know point me to commercial brewing information by state? I assume licensing is different everywhere. What else would I need to know?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2008, 08:21 PM   #2
ShortSnoutBrewing
Kwanesum Chinook Illahee
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I'd recommend contacting these folks:
http://www.state.tn.us/abc/

Old 08-07-2008, 08:22 PM   #3
cubbies
Tastes like butterdirt
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts