Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Commercial Brew Discussion (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f5/)
-   -   Lagunitas IPA review (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f5/lagunitas-ipa-review-169772/)

DFoster 03-23-2010 09:23 PM

Lagunitas IPA review
 
http://thebrownbottle.wordpress.com/...dian-pale-ale/

alcibiades 03-23-2010 09:26 PM

yeah, lagunitas sucks compared to other awesome IPAs out there.

DFoster 03-23-2010 10:03 PM

Yeah, I agree...I was surprised really. I've heard a few people talk about Lagunitas favorably, but that IPA was pretty bad overall...

bosdave 03-23-2010 10:08 PM

Lagunitas is a fantastic brewery. I will agree, however, that their IPA is likely their weakest beer. Try Hairy Eyeball, their Pilsner, Censored (Kronic), Brown Shugga, etc. All top end bombs of fantastic beer.

humann_brewing 03-23-2010 10:16 PM

I would consider their IPA a session IPA at 1.059 gravity and around 50 IBUs it tastes great but take it as it is. it is not hop stupid :)

DFoster 03-23-2010 10:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bosdave (Post 1962849)
Lagunitas is a fantastic brewery. I will agree, however, that their IPA is likely their weakest beer. Try Hairy Eyeball, their Pilsner, Censored (Kronic), Brown Shugga, etc. All top end bombs of fantastic beer.

I would love to review some of their other beers...I just have to find them :D

I wouldn't mind getting a 2nd shot at their IPA just to make sure what I had was legit.

What did you guys think of my new blog? I'm mixing reviews and beer brewing. It's only been about 2 weeks since I started the thing.

BillyBroas 04-05-2010 02:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bosdave (Post 1962849)
Lagunitas is a fantastic brewery. I will agree, however, that their IPA is likely their weakest beer. Try Hairy Eyeball, their Pilsner, Censored (Kronic), Brown Shugga, etc. All top end bombs of fantastic beer.

Hairy Eyeball in phenomenal. I generally am very happy with Lagunitas, although I just had the Cappuccino Stout and wasn't too impressed. Trying their WTF tonight.

DFoster 04-08-2010 01:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyBroas (Post 1987084)
Hairy Eyeball in phenomenal. I generally am very happy with Lagunitas, although I just had the Cappuccino Stout and wasn't too impressed. Trying their WTF tonight.


I really hope to get a few of their other selections. I was at spring training when I was able to have my first Lagunitas product...and haven't seen any in STL.

svudah 04-08-2010 08:43 PM

Lagunitas is far from the best... but you can get a bomber at 7/11 for $2.80 and that's effin awesome. The Zappa series have been hit and miss, but its a great idea.

cwheel 03-24-2011 05:29 PM

I had to dredge up this old thread just to say that I disagree with the review :)

Well, not really - it's tough to call the Lagunitas IPA an IPA, which is the main argument of your review - but I LOVE this beer.

It's hard to describe, but the subtle sweetness is delicious, and I almost taste the beer in the roof of my mouth as opposed to my tongue.

Great, now my mouth is watering for one, and it's only 1:30 in the afternoon.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:03 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.