Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Weekend to Enter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Commercial Brew Discussion > Go ahead and bash me, I like Sam Adams.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2008, 05:04 PM   #31
landis
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by aguy90 View Post
i have a question. Sam Adams cream stout, what is it supposed to taste like? i am new to the various types of beer so i'm not sure what i am supposed to be tasting. the reason i ask this is so far i have had two (1 hot 1 cold) the hot one had a little coffee after taste with a burnt flavor. the cold one i had just tasted burnt.

is it that way with all stouts? just Sam Adams? or just this batch?
Beer Advocate describes Cream/Sweet Stouts as:
Milk / Sweet Stouts are basically stouts that have a larger amount of residual dextrins and unfermented sugars that give the brew more body and a sweetness that counters the roasted character. Milk Stouts are very similar to Sweet Stouts, but brewers add unfermentable sugars, usually lactose, to the brew kettle to add body and some sweetness.
The burnt flavor might be from the roasting/toasting procedure which is fairly common in stouts.
Commercial: Dogfish Head Indian Brown || Sierra Nevada Anniversary

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2008, 07:03 PM   #32
abracadabra

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts