Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Commercial Brew Discussion > Call out to commercial brewers! What are you looking for in an employee?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2011, 07:03 PM   #1
siobhangeraldine
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Call out to commercial brewers! What are you looking for in an employee?

I recently got the opportunity to meet up with the brewmaster of Mill Street Brewery here in Toronto, and am hoping that by the time I meet up with him I will have a good enough handle on technical brewing to get a job at the brewery. I have a Biology degree and have a good understanding of chemistry and the like, so my research so far has been fascinating and fun. I have been reading the 750 pg reference guide called Handbook of Brewing Processes, Technology, Markets and have learned all about commercial production. But for the interview, what should I be prepared for? If/when you hire a new technical brewer, what do you ask them/what do you look for? I really want this opportunity, and want to make the best of it.
Thanks for any input!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 07:25 PM   #2
Nateo
Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 35

There is a "help wanted" section over on the probrewer forum. I'd read through some of the ads to see what other breweries are looking for.

http://probrewer.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27

From what I've read on there, the two biggest factors are ability to lift a full keg of beer (~72kg), and being willing to work for minimum wage.

To paraphrase Dr. England - "Off-flavors smooth with time. So do mountains. Brew it right from the start!"

My blogsite: http://nateobrew.blogspot.com/

Old 09-22-2011, 03:36 PM   #3
Nateo
Recipes