Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Label Display & Discussion > What do you print your labels on?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2008, 02:49 AM   #11
ricrellim
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I have to say I just tried the milk and I am amazed. This is super cool.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2008, 12:11 AM   #12
Beer Lover
Recipes 

I'm brand new to homebrew and am already looking ahead to labels so I find this thread and forum great but how do make them? More specifically is there a program that you use or can download like people use for cd copying? I have no idea.... Thanks for the help.
Ben

Old 01-28-2008, 12:15 AM   #13
Calvinfan1
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

I use the Avery labels along with Microsoft Publisher, if you have it. They have label templates especially for bottles and jars that fit perfectly on beer bottles. It also makes it easy to make a cool, colorful label without a lot of effort.

Old 01-28-2008, 12:48 AM   #14
rabidgerbil
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I use Avery labels also, but do my layout and design in Photoshop. Once the labels are printed, I take them down into the basement and spray them with a light coat of matte finish spray shellac. I usually go for about three very light coats of the shellac, and they look fantastic. They are also VERY water proof, at least from the front side. If left in an ice bath for too long, the water starts to seep down behind the labels, through the adhesive, and they start bleeding UNDER the shellac. You still don't get anything on your hands, but the labels will quite literally slide right off the bottles.

Old 01-28-2008, 04:23 AM   #15
Beer Lover
Recipes