The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Sponsor Showcase > Sponsor Showcase > Possible new vendor would love some input

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2009, 05:35 PM   #1
Mountainbeers
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Possible new vendor would love some input

Hey guys,

At the moment I am a college student and I am very interested in starting my own business right out of school. I still consider myself a novice homebrewer even though in the last few months I have spent every empty second in my schedule learning about the art of brewing beer. While I delved into this hobby I quickly found out that there is no LHBS. The closest thing in the area is a self described "gourmet food and wine store" that has a very limited selection of homebrew supplies. On top of this void I am located in a city that is ranked as one of the best places in the US to start a small business; a college town with a student population of over 30,000 in constant turnover.

Also, there is only one brewpub in the area. I am not ruling this out as a possibility but I feel as though more knowledge and capital is necessary to get into a business of this magnitude.

As an engineering student I have lots of experience with web design and supply chain theory. I have the skills and the love for the hobby. What I plan on developing over the next year is the knowledge and money to make this opportunity a reality.

My questions for you guys are numerous. And I can understand some vendors might be hesitant to divulge too much information as it might take away from their own business. Any and all input is appreciated.

1) How did you get started? Did you use all of your own capital? Did you go in with partners? Did you borrow from investors?

2) Did you start with a storefront, website or both? What are the biggest challenges you faced in the first year(s)?