Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Your opinions on an extract beer, please?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2010, 01:53 AM   #1
Starderup
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Your opinions on an extract beer, please?

I got a notice yesterday about a competition that requires an entry by June 16. I have been brewing for many years, and recently got into all grain, but wanted to try for this.
I don't have the time to do a mash tonight, so decided to try to put together an extract brew. Style: Irish Red Ale. Here are the ingredients:
5 lbs Amber Muntons DME
1 lb Dark Muntons DME
1 oz Bullion at 60 minutes
1 oz Cascade at 15 minutes
5 grams of Irish Moss at 15 minutes
1 oz of Tettnang at 5 minutes
1 packet of Nottingham dry yeast pitched directly into the wort after chilling to 78 degrees.

Too late to change anything, but just wanted comments on what might be better. Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2010, 01:55 AM   #2
demonrichie
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

i never had a red ale. are they usually low hopped? thats all i can notice that may be a problem but itd be perfect if youre going for a mildly hopped flavour

makng a site about homebrewing for fun you can check it out a hbhda.weebly.com . im still working on it and any tips are appreciated

Old 05-27-2010, 02:20 AM   #3
Starderup
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by demonrichie View Post
i never had a red ale. are they usually low hopped? thats all i can notice that may be a problem but itd be perfect if youre going for a mildly hopped flavour
Yeah, according to the BJCP guidelines, this recipe will conform, but it is pretty close to the top end on OG, IBUs, and just about everything. That's how I am, though. I don't appreciate 'careful' beers.
Go for the gusto, baby.