The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Yeast Autolysis?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2013, 12:59 AM   #1
Captain_Keffer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Yeast Autolysis?

Hello,
I am brand new to brewing I started about a month and a half ago. My first brew I made an Oktoberfest. It was easy and turned out great. I then started an Irish Stout. I used the Brewers Best kit. I started fermentation Sunday March 3rd. OG of 48. I let it ferment till Wednesday March 6th. In the primary I waited to see no bubbles for 2 minutes before transferring. Then I transferred it to the secondary. I forgot to take gravity reading (I'm new to this it was late when i got home). Upon transferring to the secondary I added 3/4 pounds of lactose and 6 oz of vanilla extract. It then sat in the secondary till Thursday March 14th. Where I witnessed no bubbles at all. Through the process the temperature ranged between 68-70 degrees F. On march 14th I transferred my beer to the keg added 1/2 cup of priming sugar to carbonate. Shook the keg up real good then i let the foam settle then I took a gravity reading it was 22 from the brewers best sheet it says it should be in the teens. I tasted the beer and it had a watery sweet/malty flavor. I'm thinking the beer didn't ferment out fully. In the keg if I shake it up I do get pressure (how much I don't know, enough so the top can't be easily removed without releasing the pressure). Does anyone have any idea what might have happened or how I can fix this? I have issues with being patient so if that's the issue let me know.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2013, 01:32 AM   #2
brewinginnc
Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 24 Posts