Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Worried about priming

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2012, 08:09 PM   #1
lhill80720
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Worried about priming

I'm new to brewing and I just started fermenting an Amber Ale. Since I'm new to this, the instructions about adding the priming sugar doesn't give me a warm and fuzzy feeling that the sugar is going to mix well if you add all the sugar at once to the bottom of the bottling bucket. Should I stir the batch to mix the sugar once it has been transfered to the bottling bucket?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 08:59 PM   #2
twalte
Recipes 

Liked 29 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Sorry about that...had not bought from them in a while.

You could try http://www.homebrewstuff.com

Old 01-03-2013, 05:35 PM   #3
vhanley
Recipes 

Likes Given: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhill80720 View Post
I'm new to brewing and I just started fermenting an Amber Ale. Since I'm new to this, the instructions about adding the priming sugar doesn't give me a warm and fuzzy feeling that the sugar is going to mix well if you add all the sugar at once to the bottom of the bottling bucket. Should I stir the batch to mix the sugar once it has been transfered to the bottling bucket?
I'm no expert being fairly new to brewing myself but my understanding is that when racking to your bottling bucket the movement of the new solution is more than enough to mix the priming sugar in.

That being said, from a straight up chemistry standpoint it should be more than enough. Assuming that you created a solution with the sugar in water beforehand it should mix well enough during the racking process. From what I've gathered from the more experienced guys on this site you don't want to stir it much anyway at this point in order to prevent a lot of oxygen from getting in.