Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Worried about my first batch - think it's ok?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2013, 01:25 AM   #1
willowlake
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default Worried about my first batch - think it's ok?

I am relatively new to both legitimate home brewing and forums in general, although I have had brief exposure into both. I was given a Mr. Beer kit when I was in college but stopped brewing once the starter kits ran out. I found it to be too difficult to sterilize everything in a small one bedroom apartment kept in college conditions and therefore, did not yield a product worth reproducing. This Christmas my wife surprised me with a True Brew Gold Home Brew kit. I went to the Brewmasters Warehouse and selected my recipe. I went with a SW pale ale, using dry ale yeast. I went to great lengths to keep everything sanitary, even having my wife handle some basic tasks once I was "scrubbed in." The batch is now fermenting in a six gallon carboy. It is in a dark unused room holding steady at 68 degrees. The first couple days went fine, bubbling away, but on the third day I came home to a drastically slowed bubble, and I am worried as I was expecting at least 7 days in the carboy before the yeast died. Am I being overly concerned or is this ok/normal? If it is ok, how long should I wait before transferring to the bottling bucket? I would like to get a higher alcohol content but first priority is to have a great tasting first batch. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Even if this batch doesn't go as planned, I fully intend to learn from it and start again. At this point in my life, I'm much more patient and enjoy taking time to make quality things.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 01:33 AM   #2
freisste
Recipes 

Liked 291 Times on 242 Posts