New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Will This Recipe Work?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 06:25 PM   #1
mcb2197
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Will This Recipe Work?

I'm new to brewing, and wanted to experiment with a partial/mini mash brew. Here is my plan:

1 Can Muntons American Style Light Beer (LME)
1.1 Lbs of Pilson Light DME
1.1. Lbs of Carmel 10L (Crushed)
2.2 Lbs of American 2-Row (Briess) (Crushed)
1 oz Glacier (or Fuggle) Hops for flavor (near end of boil)
7g of Coopers Yeast (I may use more, I have 14 grams)

I plan on sparging the crushed grains, and maybe making a yeast starter with the coopers. I could use a secondary fermentor if needed.

Anyone see any problems with this recipe, or have any reccomendations? I'd welcome any and all comments.

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 06:29 PM   #2
Fennis
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

What are you going for in this recipe? From what I can see here, you want no hop bitterness in the beer just aroma?

Old 01-18-2013, 06:36 PM   #3
mcb2197
Recipes 

Yes Fennis, I figured there would be enough bitterness from the Muntons LME. I'm really just trying to soup up the Muntons beer kit, using some grains and DME.

Old 01-18-2013, 06:47 PM   #4
unionrdr
Gotta home brew jones
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 1666 Times on 1471 Posts
Likes Given: 1144

I generally use 5lbs of grains to 3-3.3lbs of extract. That gets me in the 1.04X range. You could even increase the 2-row to 2.7lbs to get the OG up slightly imo. I used 4lbs base malt with .5lb each of crystal & carapils with 3-3.3lbs of extract for the stated gravity range.
I did partial mash/partial boil BIAB as well. I put a cake cooling rack in the bottom of the BK,using another stock pot for an HLT to heat sparge water.